We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real journeys overnight cruize.”
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$197.41*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
isles of scilly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“real journeys overnight cruize.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

we were advised to do the overnight cruise at Doubtful Sound by a local at Queenstown, and what advise that turned out to be. Completely blown away with this trip ! We embarked the Fjiordland Navigator and were greeted by the full ships crew whilst having afternoon tea, and made very welcome and given information about the contents of the trip. We saw humpback whales breach 4 times, along with seals albatross and the worlds rarest penguins and of course dolphins. The food was out of this world. We had a double cabin on the top deck which was very comfortable and immaculately clean. Dave the skipper was very friendly and we had a long chat about the sea and stuff in the wheelhouse where he promised me a tour of the engine room which he honoured the next day, a highlight for me as an engineer. We cannot praise this trip up enough as they say out there "sweet as" !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank porthcressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,354
    192
    58
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
1 review
“Amazing excursion”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

In July ,2013, my husband and I visited our daughter in Queenstown New Zealand .One of the excursions we went on was to Doubtful Sound. This was truly a breathtaking ,awesome experience. The beauty surrounding us was so amazing we all felt photos and/or words could not do it justice. Among some of the sights we saw were sea lions and seals ,colorful birds and spectacular waterfalls! Although we did not do an overnight trip , we felt the cost was well worth this invaluable, once in a lifetime, memorable trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryJuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overnight Cruise with Fiordland Cruises”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

From start to finish the crew were: friendly, cheerful enthusiastic and worked hard to give us a memorable trip. The crew worked very hard to accommodate special dietary requirements.

The boat was much smaller than the other operators meaning you had a much more personalised experience, and we had the pleasure of getting to know our fellow travellers. This also meant we could investigate wildlife much closer than the other boats. The final touch of luxury was an en-suite cabin.

Although the weather was typical of Fiordland (wet), we loved every minute, fishing, socialising, kayaking and being fed lovely food.

The food was excellent including: Afternoon tea with freshly baked muffins, Crayfish lunch made from crays caught that morning and roast lamb for dinner. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits throughout the day on a self service basis helped keep the chill away!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilHannah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic time in Doubtful Sounds”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I visited Doubtful Sounds a few days ago with Fiordland Expeditions for the overnight cruise. The boat is much smaller than Real Journies boats and only sleeps 14 passengers. This meant we had a much more personalised tour, we could spend time talking to our crew, learning more about the fiord and it gave us the opportunity to mingle with all the other travellers on the boat.At no point did the boat feel over crowded and there was always plenty of space to walk around.The beds were also very comfortable. We had an overcast first day with rain over night, and cloud clearing the following day. Although you get pretty blue and green pictures on sunny days, the clouds give the fiords a very mystical feel, create great black and white photos and along with the rain , really give you a true fiordland experience. Another bonus with the rain is that it creates temporary waterfalls that otherwise wouldn't be there. Our crew on board were fantastic. We had Shaun and Maria. They were very informative, made a very smooth and stress free tour and made far too much delicious food than what my stomach could handle. We went kayaking and fishing, then had the fresh fish as part of our dinner. Maria also went scuba diving for us and caught fresh crayfish and mussels for dinner. It was delicious! We were also lucky enough to get bottlenose dolphins riding the bow of the boat, and we saw a baby humpback whale inside the fiord (although minus the mother I'm not sure that this was such a good thing). There are also plenty of seals to see. I would highly recommend Fiordland Expeditions especially if you want a more personalised tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank alysha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked for a one night cruise with realjourneys and we enjoyed the journey . Despite of the rain we got in the afternoon everything was perfect . The organisation was great since we were collected and including the return . The crossing of the Manapouri lake was also a great moment . But the best were the hours spent on the boat with an extremely kind and smiling staff . We were carried everywhere on the lake , food was excellent and .... Everything was excellent . Thanks again to the team who managed so well !
A great and unforgettable time !!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank claudeGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing