We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiordland Expeditions Doubtful Sound overnighter”
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.44*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$180.63*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau or Manapouri
More Info
$423.35*
and up
Doubtful Sound Scenic Helicopter Flight from Te Anau
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fiordland Expeditions Doubtful Sound overnighter”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The overnight cruise in Doubtful Sound with Fiordland Expeditions was a highlight of our trip to NZ and just the right amount of time to spend in Doubtful Sound. Their small vessel was just perfect in creating an intimate environment for fast friendships. Mandy, your hostess, cook, and all-around handywoman, greeted us with champagne as you boarded. Richard, your captain, encourages you to catch your dinner, but will supply your plate with fresh lobsters as well. Fishing at the edge of the sound before open water at sunset was incredible. We took advantage of a sunrise kayak paddle. Watching the ice on the water crack ahead of us as the vessel started making it way in the morning was just amazing. Mandy and Richard kept us well fed (lobster in my scrambled eggs? how decadent! homemade whipped cream with homemade jam on homemade scones = so delicious), well informed, and well entertained and it was very easy to book with them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abigail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    197
    58
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were so glad we chose this trip, although felt let down that we could not go on the power station viewing but the cruise was lovely with stunning views and wildlife. Our pre-booked picnic lunch was a banquet and we could not finish it that day. The crew were attentive and helpful and the few minutes of silence to experience the natural sounds was a good touch. The extra time we had on the lake compared to similar trips elsewhere was well worth making the choice for this one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The very best trip ever on Sea Finn!!!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Although you go over Lake Manapouri on the Real Journeys boat, from when you get off it and are transferred to the mini bus, Deep Cove Charters are the people running your overnight cruise. What a team they are, Diane runs the office and sorts out people getting on at Manapouri, then on the minibus, Chris is your driver and Skipper. He gave us so much history/background info all the way over the Wilmot Pass and this continued once we were on board the Sea Finn. Our cabins were cosy and comfortable, the food, prepared by Travis, was excellent. The light salad lunch provided by Travis, would have kept us going all day as it included crayfish in quantity! This was worked off while kayaking. Later, in the Tasman Sea we fished and caught Blue Cod (and a 6ft Shark who was put back after having his photo taken), then the fish caught was cooked for our supper, along with venison just in case anyone did not eat fish. We got to see close up, penguin, albatross, dolphins and seals as well as being shown different flowers, trees and vegetation on the shores of the fiords. Chris gave us a running commentary all the time and included all the background and history of Doubtful Sound. A truly unforgettable time....thank you guys.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it but were slightly disappointed”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this trip at an I-site and we were a little disappointed. We thought it was a two day and one night cruise and it was really only about 19 hours on the boat. That is fully explained on the website but we didn't understand that when it was booked. For the amount of money you spend we expected a bit more out of this cruise. We didn't get to do very much by the time we got to the boat and we were hurried off the next day pretty early. We had to get up early so the crew could make beds for the next people. I didn't mind getting up but I felt like I was on a conveyer belt instead of a vacation. I understand it's a business that needs to make money but they could hide it a little better. The food is very good and we did enjoyed the kayaking and the scenery.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

just beautiful, even it was not a clear day, there vere not a sound, very nice. we intered Doubful sound and came out via Thompsom Sound, a great way to take it all in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happyBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing