We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Day, a Perfect Place”
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$198.37*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$179.66*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau or Manapouri
More Info
$421.07*
and up
Doubtful Sound Scenic Helicopter Flight from Te Anau
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Perfect Day, a Perfect Place”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The bit of the world that the brash noisy 21st century has not touched. Be brave, be very brave New Zealand, and keep it just as it is. This really is travelling to the end of the world, to peace, utter silence, crystal sharp beauty, profound tranquillity, a true harmony of weather and water and mountains and birds. My tiny moment here in a lifetime was quite precious and I will remember it for ever.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,390
    198
    58
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Relax on the Tutoko on Doubtful Sound”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Doubtful Sound is a changing place in the autumn months (June). One visit may be sunny with lots of photo ops and the next visit may be full of hail. We have had both. Either time brought serenity and lots of fun. Each time we boarded the Tutoko with another family and enjoyed the entire two days. The meals were tremendous, not to mention the scones and cream for tea time. We fished and shared traveling stories. To stay overnight on the sound was so beautiful. It is hard to imagine visiting the sound without staying that long. The crew on board the Tutoko (nz.com) really made it a nice trip. Tip: If you go during a colder month, beware that the boat motor is shut off at night and there is not any heat. Bring warm clothes to sleep in and keep your cabin door shut while the heat is on and all should go well. To get the personalization that a small boat offers really makes the trip. Some of us jumped off the top deck into the freezing water below. Some of us kayaked and some of us got wet when we neared a waterfall. A boat load of adventure!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jsh326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
747 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a full day”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is easy to see why the fee for this trip is the way it is. Boat to a bus to a boat and return. Waterfalls and a great crew. Thank you real journeys. The side trip to the power station was a added plus. Take the box lunch @ 20.00. More thn enough for one.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
280 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Blown away”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We entered Doubtful Sound from Thompson sound and were able to view it's impressive length and the wind in the sound was strong and you can see why Captain Cook gave it the name, little history lesson in a scenic setting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nomeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take the trip”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Take the trip to Doubtful and be amazed. So many waterfalls. Again it was awesome. True it was raining, but at least we could see the waterfalls in action, and the rain didn't dampen our spirits at all.Have to admit that, after doing both Doubtful and Milford I prefer Doubtful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing