We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a day with nature” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubtful Sound

Doubtful Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.99*
and up
Doubtful Sound Wilderness Cruise from Te Anau or Manapouri
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a day with nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took Real Journeys day trip to doubtful sound and spent a day taking in the beauty of a world heritage area. The trip has four parts. A short boat trip across Lake Manapouri, a side trip to the Manapouri power station, a bus trip over a pass to the final part exploring Doubful Sound. I could have done without the power station. The star of the show is Nature - seals, dolphins, waterfalls, mountains, and forests all concentrated in Doubtful Sound.

Next time I will drive to Manapouri to start the tour. I booked a bus from Te Anau but it only added an extra couple of hours to the trip as we went around town picking up and dropping off passengers.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank esond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,293
    189
    58
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't doubt it, do it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Doubtful Sound was stunning and captivating. Having been to Milford previously we were not disappointed with Doubtful Sound, but rather more impressed by it's size and beauty. We incorporated a trip to the power station with the cruise and were suitably impressed with the scale of that construction as well. Definitely a must when visiting Fiordland. If we had to chose between the Sounds then Doubtful wins however the journey to Milford is quite spectacular.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perhaps even more spectacular than Milford Sound and certainly much quieter. If possible contact the Schools Education Centre in Doubtful Sound, it is sometimes possible to stay in the centre when it is not being used by schools. A great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One must appreciate how to preserve the nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

After spending the night cruise, and visited the museum that showed how the power station was constructed and how much efforts it was put into to preserve the national park, one must appreciate what human can do to consume the same time to protect the nature.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Go here, avoid Milton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Huge, snowcapped peaks surround the surreal blue water in the fiord. Empty, unlike Milton, and ours was the only boat even in high season! I say Doubtful (though I request a name change)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank samville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doubtful Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Doubtful Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing