We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow”
Review of Kepler Track

Kepler Track
Book In Advance
More Info
$691.08*
and up
Fiordland Adventure Day Trip
Ranked #5 of 47 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

was a great experience with amazing views. we went before the season started and got the huts for 15dollars a night. But were walking in knee deep snow on the second day for 8 hours. Was well worth it though would recommend it for sure

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank neilb1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    58
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One day”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We did a day walk on the Kepler Track and it was beau-ti-ful!
All the green and the amazingly blue Waiau River running through it. Amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This track is short of nothing”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Most reviews below have already stated everything that the track has to offer. Stunning views of rainforest, high alpine, lakes, wetlands, gigantic landslides (Big Slip) and beautiful fern gardens; very well maintained and well marked trail; cozy, clean n dry accommodation! Great job DOC!!!
There are a few other things to keep in mind when planning this hike:
• As they say, expect rains on at least 1 day of the hike. Be prepared for the rain. Ponchos work well for the rainforest, but DOC does not recommend it above the bushline where it can get windy and freezing.
• Hike in quick-drying and breathable synthetic wear. Cotton is comfortable in warm weather, but stays wet longer and does not keep you warm. Denim is certainly not advisable!
• Snow-storms in the middle of summer in the higher elevations are not uncommon. We experienced it in Jan 2013! Had over 8 cm of snow and had to hike thru a blizzard. And though its beautiful and thrilling, its not good if one is not prepared for such weather. So refer to DOC's website for the right gear in such weather.
• The trail runs along 2 lakes for a significant distance. Keep your sand-fly repellent handy in these areas.
• All huts have cooking gas for those who have rented these services. You wont need to carry your stove or fuel.
• Do not carry too much water. Typically, 1-1.5 lt of water is more than enough per person for a day in these conditions. In worst case, there are enough fresh water streams on the way. We drank from them, so can say that its potable.
• Look out for the Mountain Parrot – Kea, around the second shelter from Luxmore hut to Iris Burn hut. They are very inquisitive and come pretty close. Almost everyone seems to come across these lovely birds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BABSBINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, varied tramp”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a lovely walk for varied scenery, lakeside forrest, alpine mountain, beautiful waterfalls and rivers through native forrest. The paths are all really well set out, we were prepared with map, compass etc. which wasn't really necessary even in fog and rain.The huts are all well kept, clean and with good facilities for drying clothes. We over estimated how long it would take to walk so if you are reasonably fit (do the occasional hike up hills) it will be a doddle. Bring a book or something to do as we neglected to do this and regretted it as we had too much time in the huts in the evenings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing 3 Days”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We hiked and camped the Kepler in December 2012, it was truly an amazing experience. The track is well formed and goes through a huge variety of ecosystems, from dense beech forests to high alpine saddles to untouched wetlands. My wife and I will cherish our 3 days on the track as some of the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kepler Track also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Kepler Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing