We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Milford Sound
from $58.10
More Info
from $62.02
More Info
from $45.04
More Info
from $163.20
More Info
Reviews (5,326)
Filter reviews
5,326 results
Traveler rating
4,246
840
206
27
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,246
840
206
27
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand mitre peak south island southern discoveries homer tunnel nature cruise long drive boat trip sunny day underwater observatory tasman sea real journeys mirror lake on the rocks saw seals hour drive bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 5,326 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2019

Lovely drive from Te Anau and through the Homer Tunnel. Had snow but it was spectacular driving. The mountains & the forest were awesome.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Murray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

I was expecting something more than green mountainsides and waterfalls, after such a long coach trip to get here I did not see the WOW FACTOR and whilst scenic it was a little bit Hmmmmm.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank possumtan981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

The day we travelled to Milford Sound, it was pouring and we were worried tabour our trip whether we would be able to see anything. The rain turned out to be a blessing in disguise. I have never ever seen so many waterfalls at the same time coming down the mountains. It was just magical and so beautiful. It was breathtaking, highly recommend it to everyone.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank acclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

This is such a diverse place, let me explain, came here on a overnight trip 2 years ago staying on the Milford Mariner when we arrived the sound looked eerie and very stormy and grey nothing like the pictures you see, anyway got the boat and it was so quaint and well restored our cabin was fine we got some beers and went to the front of the boat and the storm broke, we watched the weather close in, and watched a water spout coming down the sound towards us, we were mesmerised and didn't move it hit us with such force it nearly knocked us over, that was my only dry shirt !
went back inside and consoled our fate with more beer, our captain took us to a more protected part of the sound where we moored up for the evening , and dinner was served, really nice with good choice, met lots of people from all over the world, had a fantastic evening talking and watching the rain storms outside, and a few more beers of course!
Ive heard the term the sounds of silence but when i awoke on the sound the following morning i understood exactly what it meant
7am on the front of the ship the rain had stopped the water was flat calm the skys very grey, and misty clouds rolling over the mountains, i thought i was on another planet, what was truly amazing was that all the rainfall that had fallen was now hundreds of separate waterfalls rushing down the mountains everywhere you looked, more touring round the sound then back to the jetty to complete the experience of a life time, FANTASTIC!!!!!!!

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

I have always wanted to this natural wonder and it did not disappoint. Stunning scenery all around. The drive there from Queenstown was also breathtaking. For those driving keep on top of your petrol levels as there are not many places to fill up.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 939PaulW939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews