We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.31*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise from Queenstown, Te Anau or Milford Sound
Ranked #1 of 43 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Cataula, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great weather, our knowledgeable guide, Nicole from Rosco's, and inspiring views made this the perfect day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LiontamerCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,038
    628
    156
    20
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit, weather dictates visibility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I visited Milford Sound during a two week road trip around the North and South Islands. We were in our own vehicle, on our own schedule and that made the experience feel less rushed because we weren't being shuffled on and off a bus (like we saw so many others doing). We had no issues with the roads and even though the drive to the Sound and boat is winding, it's easy to navigate and we took it slow since there is so much to take in along the way. You'll definitely want to plan for a full day at Milford sound, including travel time and viewing.

The weather was fairly cloudy and misty, so the visibility was limited, but that hardly diminished the spectacular Milford Sound. The boat was crowded and as long as you don't mind elbowing people to get the best photo opp, it's a great tour of the Sound and you get to feel very much apart of the landscape. We saw seals, birds and waterfalls at every turn. We weren't able to see that far ahead or too far up, but were still able to feel how expansive Milford Sound actually is!

I highly recommend visiting Milford Sound for the experience, whether you're with a group or solo. Hopefully you get a clear day and get to really see all the detail, but nonetheless, it's worth drive and time spent at Milford Sound!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Te Anau To Milford Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Booked the trip with Great Sites from Te Anau. Great day with many interesting stops on our way and our driver Brian gave interesting and witty commentary. The boat trip round Milford was breathtaking. I think they should wait to everyone has finished their lunch (mine was pre-booked and was worth the money) before starting to sail. This boat trip is an absolute must if in this region, waterfalls, seals ...AMAZING!! Will definitely come back to visit. The journey back to Queenstown was long and we could have had a travel stop and a tea break on the way back as the toilet on the bus was for 'emergencies' only??

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NIKKI86206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow, a must for everyone who visits New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We took a nature cruise tour with Real Journeys. The ship has sails which makes it seem more old fashioned. Come to find out, both the Nature cruise and the regular cruise go along the same basic track. If your lucky you will get to see penguins but you almost always see brown seals.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank otsnow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Milford Sound, or more accurately Milford Fjord is similar and no less spectacular than many in Norway. But the distinctly unique climate, the beautiful drive there, the scenery make it well worth the trip. That said, it is rather commercial with about 6 tour companies with their boats vying for your business. But it is worth the trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing