We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly Scenic”
Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.31*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise from Queenstown, Te Anau or Milford Sound
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Stunningly Scenic”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It's long drive from Te Anau to Milford Sound, but on the whole it's enjoyable as it's a very scenic drive. We took a tour with Real Journeys but decided to drive there ourselves rather than take their bus, which I don't regret.

Everything is very well organised when you arrive as it's like a small ferry terminal; so you just follow the signs to the company (and time) you have booked with.

When we went it was extremely windy; so even on a hot day you'll need a wind cheater. The boats go right out to the mouth of the river (where it is least scenic). They hover in key places for photos to be taken, and even put the bow of the boat under a waterfall so you can go up and get a soaking if you want. The commentary was very good, although sometimes difficult to hear in the wind.

The only problem you'll have is deciding which photos to delete when you get back home, as you'll have hundreds!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,081
    634
    159
    20
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Milford Sound”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Awesome area, especially in April /Maywhen it's less crowded. Shuttle Drivers very informative & helpful.
Beautiful place to kayak.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Milford Sound Cruise”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful fjord - majestic. Great 3-hour cruise. The bus trip from Te Anau was also worthwhile with scenic stops along the way and lot of information given out by the bus driver.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonds Plains, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Milford Sound, the Simon Way”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked our trip to Milford Sound with the Dunedin Visitor Centre. On the day of our trip we were promptly picked up and greeted enthusiastically by Simon, our tour guide. The drive up and back was a delight. This man knows the flora, fauna, wildlife, geography and history of this area. It was a great commentary there and back. As for Milford Sound, we were granted a fairly clear day. It was a great cruise on the smaller boat, lunch provided. It is an amazing trip, with spectacular scenery. So glad we chose Eco and so lucky to have such a well informed guide.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I did a tour to this part with intercity bus. For $119 it had bus transport through fiordland, scenic stops and a boat tour, I really liked it. Beautiful surroundings!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 22ahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing