We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.13*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise from Queenstown, Te Anau or Milford Sound
More Info
$143.57*
and up
Full-Day Luxury Milford Sound Tour by Coach and Cruise from Queenstown
More Info
$136.74*
and up
Full-Day Milford Sound and Fiordland National Park Tour including Milford Sound...
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

In our opinion, a campervan is the only way to get to Milford Sound. The drive was almost as beautiful as the Sound itself. We did the drive from Queenstown and saw some fantastic scenery and spent the night in Milford. In the early morning we drove the very short distance to the pier, it was a bright day with slight cloud cover, which made the views even more otherworldly. We took the JUCY cruise, which was a simple boat, unlike some which serve extravagant meals. We think the simple boat is a very good choice if you just want to experience the magical sound and maybe get wet from a couple of waterfalls and get up close with seals! We travelled around NZ for several months and this was without a doubt the highlight of our trip! If you're in New Zealand, you have to experience it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JakeandNicoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,152
    646
    162
    21
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Stunning”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I booked an over night cruise on Milford Sound. It was a beautiful sun filled day, that night it rained and the next morning we were greeted with spectacular waterfalls.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All that I hoped for.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The three hour cruise included a buffet lunch. I had low expectations but the food turned out to be really good. It was served immediately with a nice variety. And complimentary tea and coffee are available all day. A snack bar offered basic snacks at a normal price. The cruise took us at a leisurely pace around the sound. We got to see seals and the boat took us right up to the rocks for close up shots. The personal guide seemed to know just how much to comment and when to let the scenery speak for itself. He was very informative and interesting. The Discovery Centre also exceeded my expectations. A recent fresh rain brought lots of fresh food for the fish so we saw an abundance of sea life.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter_partyofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We decided to drive ourselves which for us was a good choice as we could spend the day as we wished. We were disappointed with the mirror lakes but enjoyed the walk down to the chasm. The day was gloriously warm with bright blue skies so the drive was enjoyable. The fiord itself was all we had hoped for and more. We had a walk and then went on a boat cruise later in the afternoon. The captain on the boat was both friendly and very informative and we were captivated by the beauty that we saw. We were impressed by the low key commercialisation and respect for the landscape. Long may it remain like that.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AirFresheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Suggested itinerary for Day at Milford Sound”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We debated long and hard about how we should plan our time at Milford Sound. It may be helpful to some to give times and things we did that day. We stayed in Te Anau for two nights. We started our journey to Milford Sound at 7:40 am. Feb 14.from Te Anau. There was very little traffic. Road was good.We made a couple of stops along the way. Mirror Lakes was one. Nice area with board walk. Fifteen to twenty minutes was good here. Went on through Homer Tunnel which was not bad at all. One way traffic. Very organized. Second stop was the Chasm. Nice walk here again maybe twenty to thirty minutes. Good to have repellent. Sand flies can be miserable. There were Kea birds in parking area. Got to Milford Sound in lots of time for our pre-booked cruise with Juicy cruises. Nice small cruise boat. Gets up nice and close to falls. Would recommend it. We did the 11:15 cruise. On way back to Te Anau again not any problem with traffic we stopped at Lake Gunn Nature walk. Also stopped at Lake Marian and walked up to waterfall. That made a good full day by the time we got back to our lodging at Te Anau.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing