We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A journey to heaven”
Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.49*
and up
Milford Sound Nature Cruise from Queenstown, Te Anau or Milford Sound
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A journey to heaven”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The overall drive to milford sound was simply breathtaking. When you get to the Sound it's all very ok ok unless you take a cruise. The scenery in spring with melting snow and avalanches was wonderful.We did an overnight cruise on the Milford Mariner. It was absolutley fantastic. The staff were great, the food was exceptional and our accommodation was very good. We saw some fantastic sights as we had the best of both worlds. we saw seals,dolphins. As it was heavily raining throughout,it actually add to the scenery. we could see hundreds of rain fed springs all throughout the gigantic fiords. We went uptill the tasman sea.. the 3 course dinner and lovely bfast added more feathers to our trip. Real Journeys was the best. you should visit this place by own accomodation as the drive itself is very nice. so that you can stop at any place you want to. allow some time for yourself as you cant stop yourself from stopping the car at many a places for pics.when when returned the next morning, there was a heavy snowfall n that added to the beauty.. but not to worry as the snow ckearing trucks were at full swing. a must visit in south island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sulipta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,083
    635
    159
    20
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Drive”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's all about the drive not the destination. When you get to the Sound it's all very disappointing unless you take a cruise. The scenery in spring with melting snow and avalanches was wonderful.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aus-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic"”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We did an overnight trip on the Milford Mariner. It was absolutley fantastic. The staff were great, the food was exceptional and our accommodation was very good. We saw some fantastic sights as we had the best of both worlds. The weather was fine when we arrived on Milford Sound so did some kayaking which was amazing. The weather turned nasty overnight with winds gusting at 170km but we had the best views of the cascading waterfalls.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing waterfalls in spring time”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were planning to do Milford Sound driving ourselves, until we found out that snow chains were recommended (October is still spring) and decided to go with the Real Journeys trip instead. The bus ride was fun, and made a good amount of stops. Real Journeys' bus has "glass top" so that you really can see all the scenery around you. We saw keas on one of the stops on the way in.
The boat ride in Milford Sound was pretty great - the views were awesome and there were literally hundred and hundreds of waterfalls. Unfortunately, we had rain all day but it was still spectacular. We did doubtful sound the next day, and personally I preferred it to Milford but if you can, do both!
The board in Milford was not nearly as nice as the one in Doubtful and held a lot more people, and felt fuller. We spent a lot of the time outside in the rain, as the windows got all fogged up and you could barely see from inside. We did see dolphins and seals.
Also, be aware if you are considering driving that snow and avalanches are a real possibility here in Spring! We came back from our boat trip and they were preparing to close Milford road. The high elevations were completely blanketed with snow. Also, that night there was an avalanche (car sized boulders in the road) that closed the road for 5 days, preventing tours.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank droideka27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smaller Fjord, Fantastic Drive There”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Most people seem to travel to Milford rather than Doubtful. It is very beautiful, and more compact. The township is kind of scrappy, tho, and we couldn't find a decent coffee or meal anywhere, only snacks. Also, be VERY careful driving the mountain passes there; we saw a 4WD being winched out of a very steep ravine, on a hair-pin bend with a 15km/hour speed limit, just north of the Homer tunnel. Hope those travellers are OK but chances are it was pretty nasty....Also be aware the road is subject to landslides; ALWAYS check the road condition with any service station in Te Anau before setting off. You will love the drive out if it is safe to do so, incredibly scenic at every stage. Wow.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LostOzzies A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing