We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Save
  
Ways to Experience Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
from $163.70
More Info
from $32.10
More Info
from $48.10
More Info
from $31.40
More Info
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
416
47
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
47
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fiordland national park new zealand milford sound beautiful area south island every corner take your time mirror lake stunning scenery snow capped mountains homer tunnel bucket list natural beauty milford road cruise ship day trip luxmore hut
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 468 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

With only one day to spare for a visit to the park, my mom and I took a guided tour. If left to my own devices I would have likely spent a week just driving the Milford Sound road. There are so many interesting and amazing spots to photograph, I was blown away. Not to mention the number of hikes (tramps) that you can take before you even make it to the Sound. I was blown away by the diversity and untouched nature available within a short hike from the roads.

Highly recommended.

Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Consists of numerous rivers, snow capped mountains and of course the gateway to the breathtaking Milford sound.

Thank hasanayn114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Amazing scenery everywhere you look. Keep a lookout for local flora and fauna as you are mesmerised by the mountains and waterfalls

Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is well worth visiting to help you make the most of your stay in Fiordland. The staff are very helpful.

Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We drove through here on our way to Milford Sound and it is wonderful. Plenty of good viewpoints to take in the beauty and information boards were very good.

Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A World Heritage site, Fiordland National Park it is one of the largest wildernesses in the Southern Hemisphere. We only had time to catch a brief glimpse as we sailed through on our cruise. Standing on our balcony on the 16th deck, the glacier-carved sheer cliffs towered above us. Thompson Sound and Doubtful Sounds were peppered with picturesque waterfalls. The lower slopes of Dusky Sound were covered with unbroken rainforest. We caught glimpses of snow-capped mountains in the distance. The mist and reflections in the clear glassy water of the narrow, winding channels added an incredible eerie atmosphere which really comes across in our photos. Sadly, fog prevented our very large ship entering narrow Milford Sound, so we missed out on one of the most popular and scenic areas of the park. Not as spectacular as the fiordlands of Alaska, but still stunning and a ‘must do’ if visiting New Zealand.

Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a bus excursion into Fjordland National Park to see Milford Sound from Te Anau. It was a beautiful blue sky day and the trip was wonderful. The Park has several excursions to choose from leaving from both Te Anau and Queenstown, No matter which area you choose to visit, you'll have wonderful scenery, waterfalls, rainforest, and likely a ride on a boat into one of the fjords. One of the most beautiful areas of the southern island of NZ. I would say it is a must see!!

Thank ahuihao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's easy to see why a number of movies have been filmed in the Fiordland National Park. The sheer size of the mountains and waterfalls is amazing. For example, Bowen Falls is three times the size of Niagara Falls! We visited The Chasm and enjoyed a Milford Sound cruise. I recommend going on a tour (rather than driving) so that you can sit back and take in the scenery.

Thank TahleaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018

We wish we would've had more time in Fiordland, but even just driving through and stopping at the scenic points along the way is wonderful!!

Thank Katelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Just at the end of the Main Street in Te Anau, you turn left and walk a little distance along the water and arrive at the park. There is a walk along the lake. A good part of it is protected from the elements. So, even if it’s windy, you won’t feel it very much. There are walks ranging from 20 minutes to 45 minutes. Check it out!

Thank Mishka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews