We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the drive up to road closure”

Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.82*
and up
Milford Sound Sightseeing Cruise including Optional Lunch
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New South Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Did the drive up to road closure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Since the road was closed due to a landslide we could not do our Milford Cruise so we decided to drive up as far as we could. Stopped all along the way for photos of the mountains covered in snow at Mirror Lakes which was just gorgeous with the reflections of the mountains in the water. But, I would say they are more Mirror ponds than lakes. The ducks kept swimming around disturbing the water so we had to wait for ages to get clear photos, but it was all good fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    52
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Anything you Intend to do in the Fiordland -
Do with Real Journeys - They are the BEST !!!
Doubtful Sound is Stunning

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MandEmHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Must see area. Beautiful trails through the woods. You will think you're in Middle Earth! Can't wait to go back

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing beauty- a bonus on the trip to Milford Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I bicycled through Fjordland, was amazed by the many changes in scenery. What a bonus on a trip primarily to see Milford Sound

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definately one for the Bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just picture walking out of your cabin on a cruise ship and witnesing one of Mother Natures works of art towering mountain ranges that connect to the water line of the fiord that your cruising through Panoramic views of snow covered mountains and crystal clear water reflecting the view cascading waterfalls that you can almost reach out and touch we sat in the hot spa on board sipping champagne taking photos and imprinting a wonder to behold in our minds

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buttsy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing