We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for exploring the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coastal northeast Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

We stayed at The Cat's Whiskers for three nights while we explored this part of NZ and found it to be a very pleasant base from which to travel. Excursions to both Doubtful and Milford Sounds as well as a hike to Key Summit on the Milford Road were convenient from this location.

This B&B has the feel of a home that has been adapted to accommodate guests. We stayed in the front bedroom with a view of the lake through a large window. Even though we fronted the road, street noise was not a problem. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with plenty of counter and closet space. Both room and bedroom were clean and refreshed daily. My husband said that when he was in the shower, he could hear people in the next room, so he thought the walls were a bit thin (or the people were a bit loud).

Our hostess, Anne Marie, was a pleasure. She was a great help in planning our excursions, partly because of her skills as a weather forecaster -- better than most professionals in the US. Consulting a weather website, she helped us plan our hiking day to Key Summit down to the hour so that when we arrived at the top, the weather had greatly cleared and the view was worth the hike. Also, we had received an e-mail from a friend back in the US that our alarm had gone off back at our home and she very graciously let us use her phone to call to check it out.

Breakfasts were plain but good and filling, with the usual NZ cold cereals, yogurt, fruit and a cooked option. Internet access is available for a small donation and parking is on site at the back of the property. There is a laundry facility out back which can be used for a small fee as well.

The business district with restaurants, shopping and Real Journey offices is a short, flat (about 15 minutes) walk , Overall, we found the Cat's Whiskers to be a great value and comfortable location for exploring the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbiehpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed at the Cats Whiskers in the ‘Te Anau Room’ with lake view for 3-nights January 09. It’s a first class B&B with great hosts Anne-Marie and Lyndsay. They could have not been more helpful from the day we booked 9-months earlier. They gave us the best directions to get there from Invercargill, via the most interesting and scenic route, advised about the best way to see Milford Sound, and make the best of our stay in Te Anau, and in fact made bookings for us for a Milford Sound Cruise and Lake Cruise to the glow worm caves, and we didn’t have to lift a finger. Both cruises were worth every penny.

The room (complete with lake view) and excellent bathroom was very well appointed and spotlessly clean, and there were little things that we didn’t expect in a B&B, such as plenty of mugs, wine glasses, glass beakers, washing up liquid, dish cloth and tea towel, all very useful if you want to make that extra cup of coffee or nice little snack. Anne-Marie seemed to think of everything to make your stay easy and comfortable. The guest laundry facility was fantastic. Having a guest computer facility complete with Skype was a great benefit. Computer use was free, but you were invited to make a small donation; a nice notion.

Breakfasts were fantastic too, and Anne-Marie and Lyndsay were great to chat with after breakfast, you felt as though you had known them for years and they always offered helpful information.

Just like with a previous Trip Advisor entry, Anne-Marie suggested we go to the local Cinema to see the Milford Sound film – ATA Whenua. Not the usual thing the wife and I would dream of doing on holiday, but we took her advice. The film was great, but the cinema experience was a strange surprise. You buy your glass of wine, G&T or whatever, plus nibbles, along with your ticket at the kiosk/bar and take them in with you. Each individual seat is very large, plush, and spacious, almost like a settee, complete with ‘cup holder’ for your wine, and somewhere to put your nibbles. Great advice from the hosts.

This B & B really was the Cats Whiskers

  • Liked — Room, View, location, hepfulness and easyness of hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wiltravel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

This is a bit of a belated review but we stayed at the Cat's Whiskers back in October. My husband and I just rang the bell without a prior reservation. Anne-Marie and her husband, Lyndsey were really friendly and lovely. They gave us a great room overlooking the garden and we used the laundry facilities which were very cheap.

Our room was clean, tidy with a tv and coffee making facilities, a mobile heater. We had a great night's sleep.

Their house is really cosy and warm and there is indeed a cat and a dog too and both are very adorable creatures, demanding equal tickling and stroking attention at all times!! The B & B faces a beautiful lake and a forest of trees which is stunning to look out to at breakfast time. The living room, I believe, is private and not for general public use but they have a fabulous garden you can sit out in (if the weather is nice!). There is internet access which is a shared computer and is free. However, there is a polite notice asking for a small donation if you use it which we were happy to provide. We had problems with our own laptop on our travels and Anne-Marie was so incredibly helpful with phoning her computer Tech man to come out and fix our laptop and also she waited in while he came over and fixed it as we were at nearby Milford Sound.

Breakfast was delicious - whatever you wanted and on our last day, Anne-Marie and my husband and I were all so busy chatting that she politely asked if she could join us at the breakfast table as she finished her own fruit breakfast and so we all sat down and continued our gossiping well into the morning!

The B & B is really laid-back, friendly, cosy and a real home from home to stay in. Nothing is too much trouble. We were given lots of advice on tours, places to go, how to get there, when to get there, where to eat, where to drink. Down the road is the small town centre with lots of restaurants and bars and a small cinema which is extremely cosy and inviting.

However, GO TO THE CINEMA!! and if it's on see the Milford Sound film (can't remember the name of it). It will bring tears to your eyes! it's a short documentary with only beautiful music and no speech and it's basically a helicopter view of Milford Sound and surrounding area. It is the most exquisite, stunning thing I have ever seen. It's only about 45mins long and when it was over several of us remained seated in the cinema and were just speechless and very damp-eyed!

The Cat's Whiskers is a great place to stay for a few days. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lolopo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

A delightful B and B situated on the edge of Te Anau. It was an easy walk to the centre of town. We stayed 2 nights the end of Feb. and had a large, bright, immaculate room with a garden view. We ordered our breakfast choices the evening before and it was ready the moment we appeared. Both laundry facilities and internet are available for guests. The friendly owners had good suggestions for tours and local restaurants. We were pleased we had booked well in advance, this is a busy B and B.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Beaverskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cat's Whiskers Bed & Breakfast Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing