We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Te Anau lakefront backpackers was a pretty average experience. It wasn't bad. We had a private double room with shared ensuite and kitchenette. It was decent value but nothing special. Tiny room. To get to the main kitchen you had a 100-200m walk outside to get there. Staff were quite nice and accommodating though.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Suissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Many of the rooms have their own kitchenette (as you have described ) and for the others there is a short walk to one of the two communal kitchens. We are pleased the staff were accommodating to your needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

An average backpackers with shocking wifi, cardboard beds and average facilities.

Nothing that was "shocking" but overall just a forgettable backpackers.

I wouldn't really recommend it but there's bugger all else in the town so it's slim pickings.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We were disappointed you found the property " forgettable"
Te Anau has in excess of 3000 beds including Holiday Parks, Backpackers, Motels and Hotels, so hardly "slim pickings" for accommodation choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions and had a great time. The staff were really friendly and were very welcoming. The kitchen was a large area and catered for several people making a meal at one time. There is a small room dedicated for the TV and a seperate room for computers. The hostel gives wifi but the connection is very slow. The hostel is located 5 minutes from town and has a great view from the front, overlooking the lake. Overal great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Within a 5 minute walk of the towns centre opposite a stunning lake that offered great views. On the two occasions we stayed there we couldn't fault the friendliness of the staff or the cleanliness of the hostel. The kitchen was a large size that meant making a meal easy and with your own space. The only downside was the internet for the two hours we were given free on arrival (1 hour per person) we spent 30 minutes trying to log on due to everyone being on it at one time but that is no fault of the staff. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback.
We shall continue to work with our service provider to speed up internet service for our customers. Very frustrating I know !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Small common kitchen, cutlery lacking few cups few tea spoons ....cleanliness so so ....internet very very slow ...working only near the office ...staff not particularly helpful .... We stayed there only one night but were happy to leave .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudeGrenoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback after your recent stay. We have 2 large communal kitchens which are well stocked with utensils. You may have stayed in a share room with Kitchen facilities included ? We checked all these after your review, and replaced a few items.
The internet is slow on occasion because of our remote location and the number of users on the property. We are working on speeding up the service for our customers with our provider .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Quite possibly one of the best backpackers I've stayed in in New Zealand. Ideally located on the foreshore of Lake Te Anau and within easy walking distance from the town centre and the Inter-City bus stop, Te Anau Lakefront backpackers is warm, comfortable, relaxed and spotlessly clean. I opted for a 4-bed dorm and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was far larger than average with its own ensuite washroom and shower. There's also a useful fridge for the sole use of the dorm's occupants. The range of cookers and ovens is more than adequate and the fully fitted kitchen is as good as you will find anywhere. Professionally managed, immaculately manicured lawns and a lake view, this one goes to a 10.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 153B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thankyou for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Some wonderful staff that made my visit memorable forever! Thank you!
The building itself is old and needs renovating, but it is kept very clean and they seemed to have everything one could possible want: a well equipped communal kitchen, big telly in the lounge, computers and internet, rooms with heaters (awesome!) and an overall nice feel of the place :)

Room Tip: Ask for something with an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, General Manager at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 22 in Te Anau
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#4 of 27 in Te Anau
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $24 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing