We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just across the road from the lakefront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We booked a double room here and were shown to a small cabin in the garden, away from the main hostel. The room was clean but the bathroom could use a bit of DIY. In the room there was a fridge, TV, towels and kettle and you could sit outside in the garden on sunny days. It's only a short walk to the town centre and the lakefront is only across the road. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thankyou for your feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have checked the Bathroom for repairs as you have mentioned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed two nights in a private double room with the ensuite. Our room was in a separate building on its own and bit away from the main building – so noise to disturb the sleep. The building had a nice lawn at front. The room had a small TV and mini fridge, kettle and all linens and towels provided. The mattress was not the best, but can’t complain for the price we paid. The location is great – right on Lake front, short walk into the town, supermarket and restaurants etc. You can do most of the activity bookings at the reception desk.

Most of the staff was very nice, apart from one youngish girl, who sounded like the manager – she rudely disturbed other staff member who was talking to us. Anyway that’s not a big deal, may be a “one-off” incident! Overall, nice place and cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

As a family of four (the kids are full grown), we stayed at the Te Anau Lakefront backpackers one night before going down to Milford Sound. The location is great, being right on the lake, and just a short walk to town. The facilities, on the other hand, were about average. First, our room was off the porch, and this presented issues, including some noise (not much) and smoking, so we had to keep our door shut, even when we were moving in. The buildings are a bit older, and in o.k., but not great, condition. The room was reasonably sized, and the bathroom was o.k., but the shower water got over much of the floor.

The common areas are fine, though again, showing their years. The TV room was a bit small given the size of the rest of the place, though the kitchen, which had the desired amenities, readily handled everyone there (so far as we could tell).

My overall take on the place is that it is a fine, though not wonderful, place to stay, either for a night or a few days. You will benefit from the location, but other than that you will find it to be an average backpackers. Oh... no complaints with the staff. They were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyon82, Owner at Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thankyou for your feedback
We have been refurbishing many of the rooms and the communal areas on the property,and will continue to upgrade the older areas this Winter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom over the Christmas holidays. Even though the hostel was full the bedrooms were quiet and we slept well. The hostel has a number of different buildings with the main housing the reception, kitchen and common rooms. It was nice to have the main building away from the bedrooms. The décor is a little worn and our mattress had seen better days but was reasonably comfortable. Overall, the hostel looks a little shabby but was nice and clean and quiet. The kitchen is reasonably equipped (missing a few pot lids here and there but very functional).
The facility is located right on Lake Te Anau and an easy short walk into town where there are plenty of restaurants and two supermarkets.
The staff were very helpful and showed us day hike trails, and answered our many questions about booking Milford Sound cruises.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyJane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I only spent one night at the Lakefront Backpackers in Te Anau. I was booked in a 6 beds dorm and decided to upgrade for a 4 bed female dorm. Wise decision. My friend and I had the whole (large) dorm to ourselves, and as a bonus we had an ensuite, our own kitchen and fridge. The staff was not very friendly but was good value for money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: dont go to the 6 bed dorm - go to the 4 instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed in this hostel many times, and I always have a very nice sleep during my stay.
the mattresses are great, clean, warm linen and blankets too. The heating system of the room you can regulated your self witch is nice.
I was very lucky and all the times I stayed on this rooms: "Lakefront", "Milford", "Rotebourg" and "Greenstone". All of them are en-suite, sharing the room with 3 or more other people and a great full front view to lake Te Anau. Most of them have access to a lovely big balcony with couches and tables(smoke free area). The kitchen facilities and toilets are clean and well organized; there's recycling bins too and plenty of tea towels to keep the area clean.
The location is one of the best, just 10 minutes walk to main town and 15 minutes walk to the big supermarket, the best scenic views, that's for sure!
The reception area has heaps of trips advice and they help you to book any activity in the Fiordland National Park area. Friendly and efficient staff too.
the negative thing: In the en-suite dorms the only thing I was expecting is hand soap, there's hand towels and bath mats, but where was the hand soap?

Room Tip: en-suite rooms, all of them a great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla_M86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Ever wondered how to pronounce Te Anau? Here's my best go ... Tea AH now (stress the AH).
As for the Lakefront Backpackers ... be careful not to confuse it with Lakefront Lodge - they are very different places. The backpackers is across the road from the lake and close to town but don't expect great views from your room as the buildings extend way behind the reception area. The staff here are friendly and helpful but the rooms are very shabby and require maintenance. We had no hot water for the first night but Jude helpfully gave us keys to an empty room so we could use the shower. My mattress on a bunk bed was a shocker. It was so bad, I ended up booking into a motel in the middle of the night. Jude's response was to replace the mattress promptly and refund two night's accommodation which was brilliant for customer relations.
As backpackers go, this place was pretty awful but the staff do their best.
Tip: If you want to see Milford Sound, I strongly recommend the package offered by Go Milford. You'll get a coach ride in excellent modern buses and a boat cruise to the wonderful Underwater Observatory for a great price.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers

Address: 48 - 50 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: $22 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is the only backpackers located on the lakefront, a stones throw from Lake Te Anau. Located just 300 metres walk from the Glowworm Caves and the top of the Te Anau town Centre.At Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers you will find a well maintained, clean and warm backpackers accommodation lodge to base yourself whilst you explore the Fiords, Tracks, Caves, Lakes and Scenery of Fiordland National Park.We provide ensuites, double, single, twin, quad and share rooms all with fresh linen and duvets on the beds. Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers is only a few minutes walk to the Te Anau village centre where you will find a good selection of supermarkets, cafes, bars, Restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing