We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakefront Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakefront Lodge
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place had everything we could have asked, a large, well furnished and comfortable room with a separate bedroom, kitchen area and a spa bath in the bathroom and a nice outside area overlooking the lake. And we could park the car directly outside, really useful when you're unloading heavy cases. If the accommodation wasn't enough in itself the bonus were the great couple who ran the place, they couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, and no problem about leaving the car there while we did the Milford Sound overnighter. It's a great pity there aren't more places like this, simple, comfortable, welcoming and great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great stay in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    116
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
197
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Nice comfortable room with a good location in Te Anau. Close to the lake and within walking distance of eateries. Friendly helpful management. Quiet location and a useful sitting out area with lake views, Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a lovely base for a stay in Te Anau. The room we had (number 8) was spacious, with a full kitchen and a sumptuous whirlpool bath. You can park your car right outside your room door, and there is a picnic table outside your patio door too.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the lodge is very close to the town centre. They even looked after our luggage while we went on an overnight cruise at no extra charge after we had actually booked out. I whole- heartedly recommend this place.
The only negative for me was that the hotel is called the lakefront, but none of the rooms actually face the lake - a bit of poetic licence going on there.....

Room Tip: Ours was number 8 and fab, with a full kitchen and whirlpool bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

What a great place! The staff was friendly and professional and went above and beyond to make our stay great. Our rooms were spacious, clean and relaxing - the perfect break after all of our Fiordland activities. The location, being close to Te Anu town center, was ideal as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a great stay in NZ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

A very clean and comfortable motel. Our room had french windows allowing us to sit inside or out with views of the lake. The staff were very friendly. I left a jacket in the wardrobe and they posted it first class to our next stop in Queenstown. You can't get more helpful than that. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Manager at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thabk you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay in NZ :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wonderful helpful staff. Looked after our car and luggage while we went on overnight cruise.
Great location. Enjoyed the spa. Staff informative of all activities in the area. Very warm unit with plenty of sun.

Room Tip: Central good location. Helpful staff with good knowledge of local activities. Prompt replies to emai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were greeted with a friendly welcome and shown to our room which contained a king sized bed (very comfortable) two easy chairs and a small dining table and chairs. There was a kitchenette and a bathroom with an excellent power shower.
Nowhere is very far from the centre in Te Anau but this premises is ideally situated with a view of the lake and 5 minutes from the Main Street with restaurants and shops.
The complementary wifi is unlimited which is a useful bonus if you want to FaceTime home or upload photos to a sharing site.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefrontmotel, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for your review, we are glad that you found your stay with us enjoyable

Regards Dianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakefront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakefront Lodge

Property: Lakefront Lodge
Address: 58 Lakefront Drive | Southland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#2 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakefront Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Units with a show of Luxury. Partial Lake and Mountain views. All units have kitchens. One Bedroom Double Spa Bath and Studio Units. Free Wireless Internet throughout.Continental Breakfast available. Only a 2min walk to town centre and restaurants.Tour Booking Desk. Luggage storeage for trampers. Free car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakefront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakefront Hotel Te Anau
Lakefront Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing