We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and very friendly motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ASURE Amber Court Motel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Very nice spacious, clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Motel well situated, close to the main street and the lake.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Baldnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 280 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2008

Hotel was very nice and clean. Location was very closeby to Lake. There is no direct view of the Lake from the hotel but since the location is so close to the Lake itself, this really didn't bother us.

There were also lots of great restaurants along the Lake, which again, is all very close walking distance.

We enjoyed this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lshirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2008

On arriving at Amber Court we were offered an inspection of the room before committing to booking. The price was average for the area and on seeing the room we snapped it up as a bargain. The room had new carpets and furniture and included a sofa, kitchenette and dinning table. We stayed for 2 nights and loved every minute of it.

The hosts were very friendly and provided us with a wealth of information on the local area. They also booked our Milford Sound trip at no extra charge. They recommended the company for the cruise and we were very happy with their suggestion, not only was it the most reasonably priced cruise it was also the smallest boat making it much better in our opinion.

At the end of our stay we were asked for some feedback on the room and the tour. We did not have a single bad thing to say about the place, but I got the feeling if there had been anything bad to say they would have taken it well and fixed it immediately. They really do care about this place and it shows.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tree_Green21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We were in a 1 bedroom unit which was very big for 4 of us. There was a full size table for meals. The hosts were helpful giving us hints about when to leave for our milford sound exercusion and where to stop with kids. This hotel is not right on the lakefront, it is one street behind but very easy to walk to the lake over a path.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4cdnglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Clean as a whistle! Plenty of room, movies to "check out" from the office, super tidy kitchenette, internet access and laundry facilities on site. The hosts Craig and Jill de Bettencor went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay easy and so pleasant. They had all sorts of great, helpful info about local sights, shops and directions. Will definitely be back to Te Anau and the Amber Court Motel! Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank goodbyeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

rolled up with no booking
good deal given in the off season
very clean
very friendly
good value
motelish - which is normal for a . . . .motel
highly recomended

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kiwi444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Booked a room at the motel for four people. It was going to be a 1 bedroom apartment with lounge and kitchen. Wasn't expensive, but it wasn't cheap either. We arrived late in the morning and were given a choice of light or full cream milk. We were shown to our room by the owner, a nice couple who went out of their way to help us out. The room was nice, just what we ordered. It had a double bed and a single bed in the main bedroom as well as a single bed in the lounge room. It was spotlessly clean, with a good TV, bathroom, kitchen, etc.

The couple running the motel were nice. They had a laundry available, a high-speed internet connection for $2NZD for 15 minutes and the owners could prepare you a nice hot breakfast for $15NZD. Car parking is available right outside your room. We didn't try it, though. Requests for extra toilet paper and amenities were happily done and the owners even took the trouble to call up and make tour bookings for us!!!

Te Anau itself is a little sleepy, Milford Sound and Doubtful sound are the main attractions, which is about 2 hrs drive minimum, one-way. The town center has a fuel station, many little bakeries, souvenir shops etc. as well as a large supermarket. The biggest attraction, and one you must see, is the glowworm caves. They are covered in glowing worms, and is a site you will never forget.

All in all, we had a great time at the BW Amber Court.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Amber Court Motel

Address: 68 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: $101 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Amber Court Motel is a modern, recently refurbished 4 star motel conveniently located in Te Anau, the Gateway to Fiordland,New Zealand. ASURE Amber Court Motel is ideal for those planning to visit Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, the Te Anau Glowworm Caves or the numerous world renowned walking tracks and other local sights in Fiordland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your ASURE Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Court Hotel
ASURE Amber Court Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing