We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amber equals Gold” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Amber Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ASURE Amber Court Motel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amber equals Gold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I can highly recommend this Motel to all. We had a very comfortable and warm few nights there just this month (July 2013) It was lovely to be helped out by Craig and Jill, with where to go that was good with children, where to eat and the local things that were going on in the evening. It made us feel part of the family and not like an outsider. We chose it because it seemed good value and we were not mistaken. Also because we wanted to break up the long drive to Milford and back. We found it lovely to stay in such a clean and fresh place, especially with children to consider. Also the beds were comfortable and the sheets like new, with big puffy pillows to sink into. I also want to say how it was warm and dry, not cold and damp, like some places we have stayed before. Many thanks to Craig and Jill. See you again if we get out that way, The suttons.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSuttoooons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    101
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
146
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were looking for 1 bedroom unit (to sleep 3) in a Qualmark 4 star motel for a 2 night stay, close to the town centre. Most properties on the lakeside drive seems to be exhorbitantly priced for my comfort. After email exchanges with the properties that made our shortlist, we settled for ASURE.

What we liked:
The warmth of the owner, Craig
Tastefully done up rooms
Separate TVs in the bedroom and the sitting area
The price

What we couldn't relate to:
Taps in the bathroom (there were separate hot and cold water taps, rather than a mixer tap)
The access to the bathroom being through the bedroom rather than the Sitting area (given that the sitting area also has a bed that sleeps one person)
If there were 2 of us and we opted for a studio room in summertime, none of the above points would have mattered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank OptimistExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We used Amber Court as a base for two nights and during the day visited both Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound. Our room had very nice décor including a picture of Mitre Peak, an apt choice. Large flatscreen TV and comfy superking bed make this a good value for money motel. I would stay again if visiting Te Anau. Staff were helpful when I had difficulty connecting to wifi with my new ipad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a really nice Motel to stay in - may not look as flashy & modern as other Motels along the lake front, but the inside of our studio unit was modern with a very nice super king bed, large flat screen TV & everything was spotlessly clean. Nice & quiet & Fizz the Motel cat was a real character. I would not hesitate to come back here again & was easily the nicest Motel we stayed in out of the 3 we stayed in on our recent trip to the Sth Island. Within walking distance of eveything too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a lot of motels during our five weeks in New Zealand and this was most definately one of our favourites. Great location for walking around the lake or visiting the town centre. Lovely, helpful owners and friendly cat! Very clean,comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our third motel stay in NZ and we figured they all have the same format. Nice big rooms with a ensuite kitchenette but laundry facilities being in an outside common area. The laundry is coin operated (NZ 2 per cycle) so make sure you have adequate change if you are using the facility late night since the reception hours are until 8pm if i rememebr right. Wi-if is free only for two hours per night of stay and you are given a token. Multiple devices cannot be logged in using one token. We found the place to be clean with daily basic housekeeping. Only grouse being that there was no mixer in the bathroom sink, with hot and cold water taps being separate. The location is away from the main high street of te anau and is a long walk (may be 15-20mins) to the visitor centre and especially to the nice restaurants and cafeteria that are located further down the street. We had a car so this was really not an issue.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliSosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We got the family house and it was great. The only negative thing was the beds were a bit soft. Very clean and able to walk everywhere. The three bedrooms were great as there was two couples and wee took 2 teenage boys

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Amber Court Motel

Property: ASURE Amber Court Motel
Address: 68 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Amber Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Amber Court Motel is a modern, recently refurbished 4 star motel conveniently located in Te Anau, the Gateway to Fiordland,New Zealand. ASURE Amber Court Motel is ideal for those planning to visit Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound, the Te Anau Glowworm Caves or the numerous world renowned walking tracks and other local sights in Fiordland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your ASURE Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Court Hotel
ASURE Amber Court Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing