We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

This would have to be one of the best hotels we stayed in on our entire holiday. Right from when we arrived the staff we so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel right at home. We had decided to see the famous Milford Sound, and the receptionist was so helpful showing us all the different options and even pointed out the best places for photos, etc along the way. The hotel is in a great location right beside the lake as it is such a peaceful and relaxing area. We had an excellent nights sleep as there was no traffic noise, and it was fantastic to wake up to the sound of native birds chirping. The restaurant staff were a lot of fun and the food was delicious.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and plan on returning ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    144
    138
    33
    21
See reviews for
62
231
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2005

Stayed here with a tour group January 2005 and without doubt this was the worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time. Rooms are dark and dismal, bathrooms tiny, dark and grubby and public areas totally inadequate. Find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2005

As the other reviews say.. this is a poor hotel and I understand not typical of the Kingsgate brand.

Its a 2 star country motel and is more expensive than many of the other (better) lakefront hotels.

The other problem I had was being woken up by bus loads of tour groups assembling and loading on the bus in the courtyard right outside the rooms.

My mate couldn't get out of his room because the hotel had piled up the next days guest's bags in front of his door!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2004

We were referred to this hotel by a private tourist booking agency - our lakeview room was over the top of the hotel's ugly air conditioning unit, the shower had a bizarrely high tub with a really low shower head, and the blankets still had other people's hair on them. Definitely stay elsewhere - you can get a lot better room for a lot less money.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2004

This place was basically like a 2 star motel. The bathroom was small, old, and dark. The view was of the back of another building. The hallways were cold and damp. We asked for a room with a king bed and were told that the only 2 king rooms were occupied (we were there in off season). I'm sure there are better places.

Helpful?
1 Thank jatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing