We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Chain Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical Chain Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel was conveniently located, and it was a short walking distance to the restaurants and shops in the town center and the lake. It feels like a typical chain hotel. The rooms were average and clean, and you only had wifi at the front desk unless you paid for it in your room. We stayed here for two nights, but not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaileAndFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and the walk into the town centre along the lakeside.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    144
    138
    33
    21
See reviews for
62
231
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

They give you 20 minutes of free wifi, or 20mb, which may mean you get to stay on the internet for less than 10 minutes. Other motels in New Zealand and in Te Anau give unlimited or almost unlimited wifi.

The ground floor rooms face the tour bus pick up area, so you may be awakened at 6 a.m. by a tour bus driving up outside your window.

The hotel caters mainly to tour groups. The rooms are nothing special. I would stay somewhere else if in Te Anau.

Room Tip: stay away from bus pick up area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XenophonAnabasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. As you mentioned we only offer daily 20 minutes or 20 MB's in the lobby, other properties may offer unlimited Wifi which would be included in a higher room rate.
We endeavour to allocate guests away from the coaches leaving early in the mornings.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I understand what other reviewers mean when they say the hotel is a little tired but so many are in this quality/price range - short-stay hotels take a beating and the weather here can't help. We were perfectly comfortable for 2 nights. The room was a good size, quiet and, at a push, had a view of the lake across the road from the hotel front. The laundry was a bonus.

The town centre, 10-15 mins walk away, was surprisingly large with more shops, bars and restaurants than we expected but rain both evenings kept us in the hotel restaurant. Much as I normally hate hotel food and prices, the menu was excellent and reasonably priced - the salmon and lamb were both very good - and the staff were most friendly. Reception staff were also very helpful with recommended activities. We loved the suggested 2+ hour walk to the dam and back and spent time in the bird sanctuary along the way. We tried to arrange a sea plane flight over the lake but the plane, situated just 100-200 yards from the hotel, was not operating due to high winds.

Most people staying here will be doing so to visit the Sounds - bear in mind that the best time to see them is after a rainy spell when the waterfalls are all flowing (most dry up after 2-3 days without rain). The downside of this is the drive from Te Anau to Milford Sound takes about 105 minutes by car (longer by bus) and the roads are VERY winding so it's not the best start for those who suffer from sea sickness (the rains may also bring rougher water across the mouth of the Sound). In such cases it may be a good idea to arrive in plenty of time to recover from the drive before taking on the boat!

Room Tip: We saw a side and front rooms and both were the same and equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant. I will pass on your comments that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this place for one night before heading out on the Milford Sound for an overnight cruise. It was ok for one night but their are definitely better places in town. If your staying for more then one night I would suggest somewhere else. This place was booked by the company who put our trip together so I can't complain too much as it looks like it was pretty cheap. I do recommend a Lil place called the Ranch Cafe and bar for lunch or dinner. Best lamb burger I've ever had.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMillPigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you fortaking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Disappointed to read that you felt we were okay just for one night .

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We paid $120 for our room, with a lake view. This was hugely discounted. For what we paid, it was reasonable value. The room was clean and the bed comfy but everything was very tired. The lake view was across a large corrugated roof and there was nowhere outside to sit. Parking was very limited - we ended up in the road. We wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the room clean and bed comfy. There is seating in the garden area in front of reception to sit outside. Unfortunately there has been some days this summer that car parking has been limited.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

It was just about okay for the price we paid. Clean, location okay for walking into town and room average size, parking was limited and tight but free, wifi only available in reception area (?) didn't use it so can't comment. Our room was exceedingly hot but on opening windows we were swamped with flies so not the best nights sleep. No view whatsoever windows high up.

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view but expect to pay a lot more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagsymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Disappointed that you found your stay okay but found the room clean and the location was suitable to your needs. I am sorry that you found the room hot and a shame that you did not request a fan so that the flies were not annoying.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Everything about this stay was fine. It's getting a bit old now, could do with refurbishment at some point, but overall it's just about OK still. Parking was a bit difficult, there didn't seem to be much space, but it's central and right on the lake. No complaints, but then nothing special either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that your stay was comfortable and on occasions car parking can be limited in the summer season.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing