We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard hotel, did the job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty standard hotel, did the job!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Everything about this stay was fine. It's getting a bit old now, could do with refurbishment at some point, but overall it's just about OK still. Parking was a bit difficult, there didn't seem to be much space, but it's central and right on the lake. No complaints, but then nothing special either.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighter023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that your stay was comfortable and on occasions car parking can be limited in the summer season.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    148
    144
    34
    24
See reviews for
68
239
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Parking was tight and scarce, rooms were adequate but average, views were non-existent, Wi-Fi was worse than woeful, but Darren (Reilly?), the day time reception/front desk manager made up for everything. Friendly, courteous, obliging & helpful. He should be promoted! Well done & thank you for making our brief stay at Kingsgate Te Anau so pleasant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Badman_and_Robyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Somedays in the summer season car parking can be limited and its company policy for the Wifi .
I will have great pleasure in passing on your comments to Darren who helped to make your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Basically the hotel is nice and clean and the stuff is friendly. The only thing we did not like were too many bus tours coming and going every day which causes a lot of noise and trafic at the front of the Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisedoppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly.
It can be busy with coaches at times with also the coaches arriving to take house guests to Milford Sound or Doubtful Sound.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose Kingsgate Hotel as a quick stop on our way to Milford Sound, we only arrived late in the afternoon and were pleasantly surprised. For the extremely affordable rate we payed we were not sure what to expect, however our standard room was clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The town centre is located only a short ten minute walk along the lake. Overall we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable nights sleep on their way through Te Anau.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you were pleasantly surprised and found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the walk into town.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room is a standard hotel room but average compared to other hotels I have stayed in in N Zealand. There was a fridge but no microwave etc. The room was clean and tidy so no issues there. Lake front location but not all units have a view. My biggest criticism is the free wifi. It is limited to 20 mins and I think 8M?. I am doing a blog of my holiday and managed to download 4 photos before my allowance was used up! The hotel I stayed in after this one gives me free unlimited access 24/7. Why the difference?

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for ground floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. It is company policy to offer 20 minutes or 20 MB's free daily in the lobby and further use is available to purchase. Perhaps at the next hotel you paid a higher room rate which gave you unlimited free usage of Wifi.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in room 318 for 2 nights in Feb 2014, while visiting Doubtful Sound. Our room was located in the complex across from the main reception building and had a distant view of the lake, if you stood on the bed beneath a small, high window. The restaurant in the main building has the lakefront views. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Very good value for what we paid for the 2 night stay. Friendly reception. The only downside was that there was a bright light directly outside our unit that was left on all night. This lit up the room and made getting to sleep a bit harder. Well located and a short walk to the town centre. Parking is pretty tight, spaces are very small, although there is parking on the street behind the hotel. Lots of tour buses seem to use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the Reception staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Walk wise this is about 10 minutes to Te Anau walking along the lake, which is a lovely walk and the views are top notch. Prices where very good, staff friendly and helpful. The rooms where very good the only grumble I have is the TV only had small channel selection. However this is quite routine poor entertainment options whereas my thoughts are this extra service could be the driver to more customers ? The breakfast buffet was excellent - so many are of a poor standard - this one a complete surprise at being wide ranging in choice and hot foods tasty and well cooked. The coffee a bit "instant" for me but that's pretty routine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANS_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
Thank you for your recommendation

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing