We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stop in Te Anau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose Kingsgate Hotel as a quick stop on our way to Milford Sound, we only arrived late in the afternoon and were pleasantly surprised. For the extremely affordable rate we payed we were not sure what to expect, however our standard room was clean and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The town centre is located only a short ten minute walk along the lake. Overall we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable nights sleep on their way through Te Anau.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you were pleasantly surprised and found your room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the walk into town.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

The room is a standard hotel room but average compared to other hotels I have stayed in in N Zealand. There was a fridge but no microwave etc. The room was clean and tidy so no issues there. Lake front location but not all units have a view. My biggest criticism is the free wifi. It is limited to 20 mins and I think 8M?. I am doing a blog of my holiday and managed to download 4 photos before my allowance was used up! The hotel I stayed in after this one gives me free unlimited access 24/7. Why the difference?

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for ground floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 320KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. It is company policy to offer 20 minutes or 20 MB's free daily in the lobby and further use is available to purchase. Perhaps at the next hotel you paid a higher room rate which gave you unlimited free usage of Wifi.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed in room 318 for 2 nights in Feb 2014, while visiting Doubtful Sound. Our room was located in the complex across from the main reception building and had a distant view of the lake, if you stood on the bed beneath a small, high window. The restaurant in the main building has the lakefront views. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. Very good value for what we paid for the 2 night stay. Friendly reception. The only downside was that there was a bright light directly outside our unit that was left on all night. This lit up the room and made getting to sleep a bit harder. Well located and a short walk to the town centre. Parking is pretty tight, spaces are very small, although there is parking on the street behind the hotel. Lots of tour buses seem to use this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the Reception staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Walk wise this is about 10 minutes to Te Anau walking along the lake, which is a lovely walk and the views are top notch. Prices where very good, staff friendly and helpful. The rooms where very good the only grumble I have is the TV only had small channel selection. However this is quite routine poor entertainment options whereas my thoughts are this extra service could be the driver to more customers ? The breakfast buffet was excellent - so many are of a poor standard - this one a complete surprise at being wide ranging in choice and hot foods tasty and well cooked. The coffee a bit "instant" for me but that's pretty routine. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANS_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
Thank you for your recommendation

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here. We had a large room on the first floor, well appointed, comfortable beds, nice towels, good shower. Couple of tips - very small car spaces, ensure you park within the lines.. Many guests did not & wasted spaces. When you check out - use cash when possible to avoid the 1.5% charge, even imposed for debit cards fron UK and can add a lot to you bill. We walked into town, lots of good restaurants & cafés.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the walk into the town centre. I agreed some guests do not park within the lines which makes it difficult for other guests to park.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our room didn't appear clean on arrival, however the bathroom was.
The beds were uncomfortable and no one in our group managed to sleep as you could hear everything going on in other rooms all night.
The staff were rude at both check in and check out and unhelpful when we asked for directions to services.
There was nothing remarkable about our stay and we felt it was over priced for the standard we thought it met.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Harasness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and found the staff rude and unhelpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Reviews of various Te Anau’s accommodations at TA are not that great and we did not expect much of Kings Gate. However, we were pleasantly surprised with its quality. Clean, spacious, comfortable. It is not located in the center of the town though and you have to walk a few blocks or drive if you have a car. Also, only limited complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.
Hotel is poorly advertised and is better than shown on their site.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#9 of 22 in Te Anau
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#22 of 22 in Te Anau
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range: $80 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau is set amidst lush gardens, on the tranquil shores of Lake Te Anau offering enviable views over the mountains and lakes. Few places on earth could match the majestic beauty and sheer grandeur that Te Anau has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing