We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Newick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and clean”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here. We had a large room on the first floor, well appointed, comfortable beds, nice towels, good shower. Couple of tips - very small car spaces, ensure you park within the lines.. Many guests did not & wasted spaces. When you check out - use cash when possible to avoid the 1.5% charge, even imposed for debit cards fron UK and can add a lot to you bill. We walked into town, lots of good restaurants & cafés.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the walk into the town centre. I agreed some guests do not park within the lines which makes it difficult for other guests to park.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    147
    144
    34
    23
See reviews for
67
238
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Our room didn't appear clean on arrival, however the bathroom was.
The beds were uncomfortable and no one in our group managed to sleep as you could hear everything going on in other rooms all night.
The staff were rude at both check in and check out and unhelpful when we asked for directions to services.
There was nothing remarkable about our stay and we felt it was over priced for the standard we thought it met.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harasness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and found the staff rude and unhelpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Reviews of various Te Anau’s accommodations at TA are not that great and we did not expect much of Kings Gate. However, we were pleasantly surprised with its quality. Clean, spacious, comfortable. It is not located in the center of the town though and you have to walk a few blocks or drive if you have a car. Also, only limited complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.
Hotel is poorly advertised and is better than shown on their site.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenstown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After walking the Kelper we had a welcome stay here.. The front desk Staff all very welcoming and accommodating to are Needs ( we left some luggage here for are return back from the Kelper) we had the dinner it was pleasant, large portion and to much sauce maybe more is less as it was restaurant prices but not up to the standard. Breakfast is buffet style with lots to choose from again its hard to cater for everyone but I did enjoy and thought this was more value for your money than the dinner. The rooms are clean and liveable bed clean and comfortable. Howerver the bathroom is on the very small size, after walking the Kelper and about to begin a trip on the Routeburn a welcome bath was needed, now I'm small 5ft 2" and even i couldn't lay down in the bath :-( did also have stand shower in bath tub, but the bathroom was clean and tidy even tho on the small size. I can't fault the service we received here very friendly front house staff and dinning room head/ waiter. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelly347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff regarding their service and friendliness.


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Heliers, Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

After staying in Kingsgate in Dunedin we expected a similar standard, the room however was not as comfortable as Dunedin our bed was not on legs and was very bumpy. Our parents had a room next door whose bed was on legs and therefore slightly more comfortable. The shower cubicles are tiny built for hobbits I think. On the positive the rooms were clean, warm and covered basic needs for making tea/coffee etc. The staff were wonderful especially Lian and it is in a picture perfect setting short walk along the lakeside into a cute town with shops, restaurants and cafes. Drive to the sounds and enjoy the breathtaking scenery xx

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that the location was suitable to your needs and you found the staff friendly.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was the cheapest place we could find in Te Anau but there was nothing cheap about the service or the rooms. Clean, modern and very convenient. Strongly recommend this.They were very understanding when I wanted to convert from one in the room to three!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated.


Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a way to spend New Years Eve, in this lively little Town. Nice Hotel a few hundred metres from the main centre. Good clean room. Graeson the night porter was excellent & very helpful. No reason but we did not use the restaurant as had things booked but looked nice

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your New Years eve in Te Anau.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing