We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, clean and confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Location, clean and confortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've stayed there for two nights. We got a second floor lake-view room. The room was well-sized, clean and confortable. However it's a little outdated and basic.
The breakfast was ok too and we ate at the restaurant both nights, while looking at the lake from the table.
It's perfectly located, right in front of the lake. So, it's really nice to walk around.
I've read that there is no air conditioning, but we did not mind about that, as the wheather wasn't hot.
We got a really good deal, with breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reveiwer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant over looking the lake and found the location convenient.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    146
    142
    33
    21
See reviews for
63
236
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 6 stayed in three rooms here on our way back from Milford Sound. It's not outstanding and, although overlooks the lake, our rooms had views of the car park. Rooms are basic - clean and comfortable and that's about it. One criticism - we checked out on Good Friday and asked the desk staff whether cafes would be open in Te Anau. We were told promptly that nothing at all would be open and if we wanted breakfast it would cost $25 per person. Two phone calls soon found out that this was false - there were stacks of cafes open! I didn't find this particularly good or helpful service from the hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am surprised that Reception staff would tell you that cafes would be closed in Te Anau on Good Friday and breakfast does not cost $25 at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

After a long drive from Dunedin via Invercargill, we arrived at this hotel in preparation for a visit the following day to Milford Sound. The hotel was clean, but the room was somewhat Spartan in its simplicity and there was a slight odor of cleaning fluid. There was no elevator in the hotel so we had to carry our bags up the stairs as there were no hotel personnel to assist us. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was fine. It was easy to walk into the center of Te Anau from the hotel and its location on the lake is charming. A very practical place to stay if one is going to Milford Sound.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
On request there is always someone available to help guests with their bags up the stairs.
I am pleased that you found the location handy and the staff friendly and helpful.


Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights and were very pleased with our room except that it did not have air conditioning. The breakfast was included and was very good. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, had a table overlooking the lake and the food matched the wonderful view. The service was good and receptionist very helpful. The parking could be a little difficulit as get a lot of coach parties. Would return

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at front of hotel with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and is much appreciated.
Glad to read that you enjoyed your meals and the view from the restaurant while dining. Also that the service was good and Front Office staff were friendly.

Kind regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Kingsgate, the ladies on the front desk where very helpful with information on what to see and do. The room was very comfortable. We only stayed one night and didn't eat at the restaurant but it was a good stay. The only thing that was a bit annoying was at midnight you could hear the night staff leaving and talking in the back car park, probably because we had the window open, other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Don't get room too close to car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and is much appreciated.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will remind the late staff to be quiet when leaving work especially on these calm nights.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an older style hotel and offers value for money. It is aimed at foreign coach parties rather than general travellers. It's in a good location beside Lake Te Anau, but then so are all the other hotels in town. Location is a 10-15 minute walk from the main strip where the restaurants are so it is quiet and peaceful. If you have kids, there's plenty of space for them to run around beside the lake and stop them getting bored. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We slept well. Reception was efficient but not overly friendly. No real facilities other than restaurant and bed. Overall it's value, but not exhilaratingly so; unlike the adjacent scenery which is!

Room Tip: Request a 1st floor room, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madonna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Located right on the lake front on the gorgeous Lake Te Anau, was the perfect location to base ourselves at while exploring the region. The room was comfy and had everything we needed including a view of the lake ( we asked for this). We found the staff really friendly and happy to point us in the right direction when asked.
The gardens were lovely and the hotel had a homely feel, food at the restaurant was also of a good quality. If you would rather check out the restaurants in town they are only a 5 min stroll along the lake front. We booked ahead and managed to get a very good rate. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor looking towards the lake was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us and your positive feedback is very much appreciated. I am pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing