We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lakeside location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Guernsey
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great lakeside location”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We approached Te Anau through miles of wild lupins and were pleased with the lakefront location and easy walk into the centre of town. It's also easy to walk the other way along the lake into beautiful parks and countryside to the start of the Kepler Track. The room was quiet and well equipped and the bathroom lovely, and staff helpful with use of computer etc. They also were happy to accommodate us for an extra night when the Milford Sound road was closed because of rain and we were unable to get there. We decided to dine in on one evening and thought the buffet was pertty awful, and would not recommend that to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Pleased to read that the staff were helpful and we were able to accommodate you for the extra night when Milford Sound road was closed.
However extremely disappointed to read that the buffet was not to your liking as normally the buffet dinner is well received. I have passed on your review to the Executive Chef for further discussion.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    146
    144
    33
    23
See reviews for
65
238
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked in here for one night before we were visiting Milford Sound. Our check in was not overly friendly and we felt like we were imposing by trying to check in. She asked how our day had been and by the time I got to the third word she just starting talking over me...it was obviously a rhetorical question in her mind!
The room itself was fine - plenty of space. Older decor, old TV etc but it suited our short stay needs. The bathroom was good. Everything was very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. Disappointed to read that the Reception person enquired on how your day had been but didn't allow you to respond fully, as we pride ourselves on being friendly.
Happy to advise that Flat screen TV's are due for delivery in the next six weeks.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Dump sums it up... Everything about a hotel where no one cares. The beds have a heating pad (great idea) except you have to sleep on top a plastic knob where it connects to the electricity. I was happy not to be electrocuted!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a good night at this hotel. The staff were just amazing. The room was nice and the value for money good. It is well positioned near the water front. Close to all amenities. The restaurant however was appalling. We arrived late and were too tired to go in search for an alternative place to eat. We has the worse food on our entire trip and the prices for the rubbish was high. We didn't even get what was on the menu. Very disappointing, the staff in the restaurant however were great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that the staff were amazing however extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding the food. Pleased be assured that the food quality you received is by no means indicative of our normal standard and I have passed your review onto the Executive Chef for further discussion.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked the place based on it's online presentation, which is not to impressive. However, when we arrived we had a lot of positive surprises, starting with the host who arranged tickets for us on the best Milford cruise on the next day, even it was already very late in night, followed by a spacious room which had everything you could ask for on a high standard. In the morning we could enjoy our breakfast with great views over the lake. Our internet was free.

Room Tip: Top floor as close as possible to the lake offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to the post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is appreciated and glad that the staff could help with your sightseeing bookings for the next day.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Te Anau seems to be a major stopping off spot on the way to Milford Sound. Contrary to some other reviewers we found it just fine for our overnight stay. Beds were comfortable, room was clear and the dinner buffet was not gourmet but quite acceptable. Beautiful view over the lake and a very pleasant walk along the lake front to downtown. A number of restaurants there but we did not partake that evening. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. We had not realized that the glow worm caves were a short trip away but next time would try to fit this in. We did see other caves later on North Island.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel.
It was great to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and in Te Anau and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Kind Regards

Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

One of the worst places I have stayed in any country. The rooms had cobwebs along the ceiling and decor that is easily 30-40 years old. Very very very basic as far as rooms go. No cutlery, plates. Had to beg for it downstairs. Internet is slow and not free - everyone else in NZ has free wireless. They only have wireless in the lobby. What a joke. Local phone calls are charged too. Very scabby. And they want to charge as much as the major cities even though it's in a dying town. Staff were helpful if prompted but they forgot to tell us that the rd to Milford sound was to be closed. Instead left the tiniest sign on the corner of their front desk. I think since no one would go to Te Anau if not for Milford sound they should probably put notes under doors? Broke news horribly to us as well - "uh no you're not going to be going tomorrow!". Restaurant was older than time itself. Beds were too small for 2, too big for 1. Very weird. TV was sooo old. Made that warming up sound when you turned it on. Fridge was the smallest thing ever. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

It was disappointing to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The rooms have had new carpet, bedspreads, sheers and chairs in the last year.
Cutlery is not part of room amenities and was unacceptable that you felt you had to beg for cutlery and plates.
It thas been a stressful and upsetting time for everyone with the uncertainty of the Milford road and many people travelling long distances to miss the opportunity of the Milford experience.
In regards to the TV's and WIFI, these items are being upgraded in the first quarter of the New Year.

Kind Regards
Anita Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Property: Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing