We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oil smell from heating furnace made stay less pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oil smell from heating furnace made stay less pleasant”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

When I checked in they couldn't find my booking from expedia - the first time this has ever happened to me. To their credit, they diligently looked to resolve the situation - it appeared they were quite booked and we had a three-night stay. So instead of a family room we were allocated to two rooms, which appeared fine. However on the second night, our rooms appeared to fill with the oil smell from the nearby heating furnace, which was quite unpleasant. We couldn't help but wonder whether these rooms were used as a last resort. The rooms were fine apart from this, but it did detract from our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    49
    69
    27
    22
See reviews for
24
101
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I had read mixed reviews on this place, but decided to book a standard room. And the day before we were due to stay here were met a couple who said they had to move out of the motel because it was so bad, which made me think it was a bad decision to stay there.

I was quite satisfied with the accommodation. The room was on the small side, but reasonably modern and it was clean. We stayed on the second floor, and the shower pressure was fairly pathetic, but still functional.

The hotel itself is a little far from the centre of town, but still walkable.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Hotel was reasonably clean/good size room for the price. The rooms were in need of modernisation though. Bathroom was appallingly old (70s). Some rooms were modernised (nice walk in showers) but we werent offered one of those even though the hotel didnt appear full in the least. Great location for a trip to Milford Sound. Hotel has various standards of accommodation from backpack to basic hotel giving a variety of guests. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

On arrival we were told that the heater in our room had been on all day for us.The radiator was however full of air so the room was freezing, my husband did manage to bleed the radiator with a nail file but this had little effect.We could not sleep at all due to the degree of coldness in our room and noone was available on reception after 19.30 p.m.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceNorthernEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2009

We stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and it was the pits
The new management that they have now has changed this place to a very satifying stay in deed.
Loved the new hotel rooms you have refurbished and with the plans that you are upgrading the whole place is great.
Location and views are one of the best in Te Anau.

Thankyou to all the wonderfull staff.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tit_for_tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We stayed there recently, when visiting Milford Sound. It was a good value choice, with really friendly and helpful staff. I had read the other very old reviews and was a little worried – but it was fine; it was very good value for the money and would really suit couples/travellers. Apparently, this very large 100 room hotel has new owners who are in the process of refurbishing the whole place – there were new (extremely comfortable) beds in all rooms, which were also newly painted (see photos).

The rooms had a great view over the lake or fields, and the downstairs bar was directed in a cool 1960’s retro theme. Easy parking, right outside your room (and- if going overnight on a tour - they’ll let you park there and will keep your bags safe). There is also a small heated swimming pool, gym and 2 spa pools. Very good value for money, only a 5-10 minute walk along the lake into the centre of the tiny town. Would recommend for budget travellers or for people who are going to be out and about doing things - which is what you are on holiday to do!!

The room and complex were good – and great value for money (as the owner was a golfer, they even had golf clubs you could borrow to go and play at the neighbouring course – and would drive you there!). Apparently, they would also have ‘scooters’ for hire over the summer as well – a lot of effort was going in to doing up and making this hotel complex ‘fun’.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eve13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2006 and would never stay here again. It was overpriced, very dated and staff was rude.
The room looks like it has never been updated and the same goes for the bed which was way too soft and dipped badly in the middle.
We only stayed here because it was the only accommodation we could find in Te Anau (and now I know why).
The staff were particularly unhelpful and seemed put out that they had to serve us.
Pay a bit more and stay somewhere nicer!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything - price...service...
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#8 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 mi away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#21 of 23 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Property: Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing