We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Small room but clean and well appointed. Nothing special and certainly no views but perfectly adequate if you are on a budget. About a ten minute walk from the town centre but plenty of free parking . On main road out of town but still quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    58
    23
    17
See reviews for
22
82
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Ok value stay with just few minutes walk from city. Stayed just one night and because of just a big amount of users in block we lost power during evening. Friendly and helpful staff. The pool area and one spa was under construction. Took a trip to glow worm caves and visited milford sound while staying in te anau. Would explore other hotels when coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl007K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A large functional complex of hotel and motel units on the outskirts of town off the main road with plenty of space and parking. We stayed in the motel units which were clean and functional, with a nice grassy area outside for drinks in the sun! Staff were very friendly and minded our bags for us while we did the Kepler, and even dropping us to the track start and into town for dinner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, decent size rooms and great parking. There are laundry facilities, a bar, pool table etc. it is only a 10 minute walk from the town centre and a 2 minute drive to nearest petrol station.

You can hear doors being slammed at night and patio doors being shut which can be quite irritating if you are trying to get sleep.

All in all though a decent motel for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Initially I was a bit disappointed as I thought the place looked amazing and quite luxurious on the website and thought I'd got myself a real bargain. When I compared my photos to the website just now, it actually looks pretty much the same, but I guess it just doesn't feel so flash when you're there in person. Saying that though, it's still nice and comfortable and clean, and the rooms have been completely renovated. We were in a standard room, which isn't particularly spacious and doesn't have any cooking facilities, but the bed was comfy and the shower was nice. I had been looking forward to using the pool, but when I saw it, it was pretty small and not very inviting so I gave it a miss. The location is a bit out of the way, but it's only a few minutes in the car into the town centre. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and overall it was very reasonably priced and a good base for the fiords.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I loved where we stayed as it was not too close to the main shopping area but close enough to walk. The staff were lovely and we enjoyed ourselves very much, thankyou!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We chose Fiordland because of promotional fare. Hotel was very quiet, staff perfectly attentive and there wasn't many guests. Interiors were a little bit old fashioned, but room was modern, clean and comfortable (cool bathroom with tub). Unfortunately, the hotel is outskirts of the city (making it easier to find), but the walk to the downtown is about 20 minutes, so it's not a problem. Small swimming pool is in a separate building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Village Inn Hotel
Village Inn Hotel
#20 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands Motel
Parklands Motel
#18 of 24 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland Hotel/Motel

Property: Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Address: 91 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiordland Hotel/Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fiordland Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland Hotel/ Hotel Te Anau
Fiordland Hotel/Motel Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing