We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour to Milford Sound”

Southern Discoveries - Go Milford
Book In Advance
More Info
$124.70*
and up
Milford Sound Coach & Scenic Cruise ex Te Anau...
Ranked #5 of 32 Tours in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Discoveries very own personal small group tour. Travel in luxury with our local drivers providing fantastic commentary in the heart of Fiordland. Enjoy the comfort of our modern coaches with leather seats, temperature controlled comfort and panoramic views (some coaches have a glass roof for optimal viewing). In Milford Sound you will join our 3 hour Discover More Cruise.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We did the Te Anau - Milford Sound tour recently with Southern Discoveries and recommend it to visitors to this region. The price at first seemed a bit steep for our family of four, but afterwards it actually seemed like you got good value for money.

You get a full commentary along the highway by the minibus driver, a description of various sites along the way, the history and wildlife, and there are plenty of chances for stopping for photos. The bus was pretty comfortable too. The distance covered out of Te Anau is just right for a great day out without being too tiring.

I heard of people doing a similar bus trip out from Queenstown but that would be a VERY long day. Do yourself a favour and drive to Te Anau first, stay overnight, then get a bus trip like this for a less stressful and very enjoyable day.

We had a large campervan, and although we could have driven, the road Milford Road is quite steep in sections. After seeing the road in, I was very glad to get the day off from driving the campervan. If you do choose to do this yourself in a larger campervan, make sure it's in top condition as tyres and brakes will need be very good!

Our minibus driver, Reece, made sure our day out was fantastic. He made the day far more enjoyable for all. It was an overcast day but it didn't spoil the day at all. It just added to the unspoilt landscape and wilderness scenery.

The boat trip we connected with was also well organised, the commentary good, and the food onboard good quality. The scenery was why we went there, and we were not disappointed. Milford Sound is quite unique and it's fantastic to have such a beautiful place accessible in a no stress day trip.

Looking at other tours on offer this trip seemed far more intimate and I would recommend this over some of the tour operators running large coaches from Te Anau. Our boat had a cap of 90 passengers we were told, while the competitors looked like they had at least double the number of people on their trip. When we disembarked, the ferry terminal was busy with the passes enters from the "busy" bus. We walked out to our minibus and escaped the crowds in seconds. Our bus only had about 12 passengers on this day, so we were quite lucky I guess.

There is one place that you could stay overnight in a campervan at Milford a Sound ( Milford Lodge) but it was booked out when I enquired, and to tell you the truth the sandflies and lack of facilities would probably spoil anytime spent overnight there. Take some insect repellant for the wait on the dock for your boat as the sandflies are every bit as bad as they say. We didn't have any dramas with sandflies at Te Anau...

Well done Southern Discoveries! Thanks for a great day that we will always remember. I have some fantastic photographs to keep forever too. Special thanks to Reece.

Thank Seyahbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and sharing your experience with others. Our Go MIlford tour is a great way to experience Milford with a smaller more intimate group where the driver has time to get to know everyone and give you a more personalised experience. And like you said, take a break from the long drives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"underwater observatory"
in 21 reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 11 reviews
"box of chocolates"
in 2 reviews
"cars coming"
in 2 reviews
"boat trip"
in 14 reviews
"interesting addition"
in 2 reviews
"discovery center"
in 4 reviews
"seater bus"
in 2 reviews
"tour today"
in 2 reviews
"nature cruise"
in 8 reviews
"small boat"
in 9 reviews
"interesting stories"
in 2 reviews
"large pod of dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"coach driver"
in 5 reviews
"take photos"
in 6 reviews
"worth seeing"
in 2 reviews
"photo ops"
in 3 reviews
Filter

113 - 117 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

A beautiful day trip but the area is in great danger of being loved to death. Teeming with busloads of mainly Chinese tourists. The boat trip was excellent with good commentary and saw quite a bit of wildlife.

Thank barry1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Being such a spectacular location Milford Sound really does draw the crowds but we work hard to make our work sustainable and recommend morning or late afternoon cruises for those wanting to miss the crowds. Glad you enjoyed your trip and got see the lovely wildlife in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I went on the Go Milford day trip with Southern Discoveries on a horrific rainy day. It was the best trip to Milford I have done, having been there a heap for work. The rain made the scenery fantastic and our driver Bruce made everyone feel at home and made an effort to talk to everyone and get them involved with trivia. Fantastic commentary. Umbrellas were provided for short walks. Lunch on the boat was buffet and it was delicious. Big boat with tons of room and great viewing. Underwater observatory visitor centre was more fun than the actual observatory. Great package for families!

Thank 99kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review! Having been there for work it's great to see you getting to enjoy this spectacular place for your leisure and having a fantastic trip. The staff at the Milford Discovery Center work hard to keep the information interesting for everyone making this a great activity for families. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Bruce our steerologist for the day, was both helpful and friendly. Pointing out all points of interest and providing ample opportunity for photos along the way. Arranged last minute decision for us to enjoy a 30 minute helicopter ride over Milford Sound, landing on Donn Glacier, following cruise. On our return trip he took us to a property to feed new born lambs and goats. A truly great day.

1  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your day trip to Milford Sound and that Bruce was such a good tour guide! It's a real bonus to experience Milford from the water and air, so many spectacular views to see! We hope to see you again in Milford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It started with an 8am pick up at the stunning Top 10 motor camp in Te Anau and was the most entertaining day we have had on our journey around the lower south island! Bruce our tour guide was not only entertaining but had an unlimited knowledge of the local history and geography of the area. A true blue southern man!!! Due to the Milford Road being closed until 11 am we were fortunate to have lots of extra stops on the way to some of the most stunning spots and amazing photo opportunities. The cruise was great, the food was fantastic and the extra bonus of having the opportunity to take a helicopter ride rounded the day off. Bruce serenaded us with his eclectic style of music on the way home peppered with quizzes and jokes. All in all, the most fantastic day. Thank you very much for making this day special Bruce.

Thank dell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernDisc, Front Office Manager at Southern Discoveries - Go Milford, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and tell everyone about your trip. I'm glad Bruce made such a good impression on you and made your day one to remember. We hope to see you in Milford again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Discoveries - Go Milford also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Southern Discoveries - Go Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing