We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh seafood for great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainly Seafood

Mainly Seafood
Ranked #18 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Fast Food, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous fish n chips, burgers,seafood, espresso coffee. All food is cooked with healthy rice barn oil and all of the fish are freshly battered or grilled to orders on site. All food can be takeaway or you can sit at a table.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood for great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

But as their name already says, stick to the seafood. I tried their burgers the second time and it was less than mediocre. But the seafood is fresh and great value. Too bad it's a mobile van and there's no place to sit down and eat so we could only take it back to our motel room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    74
    47
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Food must try in Te Anau”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Quality seafood. Some of the finest you will have. Second only to the Brass Bell, Kalk Bay, South Africa.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobbjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Kiwi fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the place to get your fish and chips when in Te Anau and the location is perfect, right on the lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I love me some fish and chips - and Mainly Seafood is up there wither the finest I've had.

Served from a stall near the lake front, the seafood is fresh and cooked to perfection. The chips were also very fine.

If you find yourself in Te Anau and like seafood - you simply must try Mainly Seafood.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarneyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Don't be put off by the appearance. Mainly Seafood is a van that is parked along the Lake Te Anau lakefront (near the Lions Park toilets). But this van manages the best takeaway fish & chips in town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimTeAnau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. Yes we may be small but we try to cook quality food at all times. Glad you say we are the best in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainly Seafood also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Mainly Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing