We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food out of a ven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainly Seafood

Mainly Seafood
Ranked #18 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Fast Food, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Famous fish n chips, burgers,seafood, espresso coffee. All food is cooked with healthy rice barn oil and all of the fish are freshly battered or grilled to orders on site. All food can be takeaway or you can sit at a table.
Lancefield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food out of a ven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food was great, tasty and for a van extremely clean the staff very busy but still so very friendly. A real must try.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed the best fish n chips in NZ haha. Would love to see you again one day and hoped you enjoyed all of NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    73
    47
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woodford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NIce takeaway option on the lakefront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a nice takeaway tea from here. Blue Cod, bluff Oysters, whitebait fritters and scallops.
Lovely friendly people. Location is perfect.
Meal was very very nice.I didnt like the whitebait, but hubby did,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. We are glad you enjoyed our takeaway experience and hope we see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whitebait fritter”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The whitebait fritter was interesting. Not something I would try gain but glad I tried it once. The menu is mostly fried seafood with a few burger options. The food truck had a line both nights I was there and seemed to be quite popular. It is open 7 days a week from 12-8 pm. it's located on the lake front just past the road to the town center.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rrogoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are glad that you have come to NZ and tried our kiwi food. Whitebait is considered a delicacy here but is not to everyones taste just like our paua. But hey you gotta try the local food while in a place otherwise you dont get the experience!

Just to let everyone know that we do deep fry in ricebran oil so its as healthy as you can get for fish n chips and we also sell fresh salads and rice as an option. We also can grill our beautiful blue cod if required.
So once again thanks and I hope you enjoyed NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely and fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the meal from here was really fresh and no fat or grease,the prices were a wee bit high,but you forgot this when you started to eat,don't use the toilets opposite here run by the council they are pay ones and i don't see why we have to pay $1 to relieve yourself

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put in a review.
We are glad you enjoyed our fish and chips and hope to see you again next time you are in Te Anau.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The blue cod was fabulous, don't think I have ever had such tasty fish and chips and a perfect setting by the lake

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tassitaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra S, Owner at Mainly Seafood, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much! Glad you enjoyed our food and view.
Hope to see you again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainly Seafood also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Mainly Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing