We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cottage, great hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Mountain Cottages/Lodge
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, great hosts!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was just wonderful staying with Fiona and Philip while we were in Fiordland! They're terrific hosts and surprised us with some much-needed chocolate on our honeymoon. The farm fresh eggs are amazing! If you have a chance, say hi to Nushka, Shasta, Honey, and the rest of the pack.

The cottage was a nice change from the other places we stayed in New Zealand. There's ample room to stretch out and take it easy. It's nice and quiet, but close to Te Anau and the National Park so it's easy to head into town. If you're in Fiordland and need a relaxing stay, Blue Mountain Cottages are the perfect place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed with Fiona and Phil before she had a trip advisor spot. So pleased she now has it as we so wanted to say how much we enjoyed our Christmas stay with her and her lovely family. Fiona helped us beforehand with booking Doubtful Sound overnight trip and she welcomed us unreservedly when we arrived for 5 days in their lovely bachs. "Help yourself to the vegetables" was the first thing she said.... We had 4 months in NZ, touring around, and this is a friendship that we remember well...and indeed keep in touch with. Thank you Fiona from Debbie and Ian in Scotland

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabre9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a great time in Te Anau, helped by this lovely accommodation. Fiona had left delicious shortbread to welcome us and we loved cooking her yummy sausages on the barbecue. Jayden was a great host and playmate for our kids and they all happily played together in the garden. Would definitely recommend as family-friendly accommodation. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are a family of 4 ( kids in their 20's). These cottages were perfect for us. Fiona spoiled us with baked goods and did a great job of helping us with our itinerary while we stayed in the area. Her suggestions for things to do were spot on! Our second evening we got back late from Milford sound and it was great to have dinner with our kids in our cottage. It was a wonderful end to an amazing day. Waking up to the view in the morning is fantastic! I loved having my morning coffee while gazing at the mountains. And so much hiking near by! Location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Coming from farming stock it was nice to be on this small holding. The bungalow had all we needed to be comfortable. Cooking facilities, sitting area and cosy bedrooms. Weather not at its best, so a difficulty if you needed to wash, as washing machine but no drier. A distance from town so if you want the immediacy of shops and eating out it may not suit. If weather good then 'a okay' and barbecue facilities available. A very friendly family happy to help in any way. Home cooked goodies on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadders58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were 2 couples from the UK and stayed for 4 nights. The accommodation was excellent as we had a cottage each! All modern and spotless. Plenty of local walks and Te Anau is just a short drive away. The owners could not have been nicer.
Highly recommended by all of us.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious and a separate sitting room is provided in each cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulw1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Blue mountain cottages are pure luxury with everything you could want in your own self contained cottage. They are immaculate with tasteful decor, beautiful bathrooms and kitchens and large bedrooms. Fiona and Phil are perfect hosts with nothing too much trouble. The scenery and views from the cottages are outstanding and in an idyllic setting. You are close to Te Anau which is a few minutes away .When you have had a long day and want to relax you couldn't choose a better place to stay. Just bok it! We will definitely be back...

Room Tip: The cottages are clean with large bedrooms ina quiet setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
3.9 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.5 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
4.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Blue Thistle Cottages
Blue Thistle Cottages
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.9 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fiordland Lakeview Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountain Cottages/Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountain Cottages/Lodge

Property: Blue Mountain Cottages/Lodge
Address: 745 Manapouri Te Anau Highway, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I own and operate two self contained cottages on 20 acres of intensively farmed land, 7km south of Te Anau on the Southern Scenic Route. We are conveniently located between the two entrances onto the Kepler Track and are just minutes from the Waiau River, famed for rainbow and brown trout. Each cottage has two bedrooms, a double and a twin, with a seperate bathroom, laundry and barbecue. This is a great place for families and couples alike. I offer Country living at its best and a real taste of the New Zealand way of life. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Mountain Cottages/Lodge Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing