We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your typical backpackers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosie's Homestay Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosie's Homestay Backpackers
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not your typical backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for three separate nights with some hiking and kayaking in between. The bedroom was great (we had a double in one of the rooms each time), comfy and clean; the kitchen was very well equipped, spacious and clean; bathrooms were clean; the lounge area and the outdoor areas were great places to chill. Rosie and her husband and other staff were very friendly and helpful. The car park was free. Location wise Rosie's is a fair walk out of town but it wasn't an issue with a car. Rosie's had absolutely no problem with us leaving our bags and food in between our adventures. I had one minor issue as I am allergic to cats and they have one as a pet, some anti-histamines which I always carry removes that problem though. Overall, this was a great place to stay and is definitely recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hurlator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
28
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rosie's is a very nice place to stay in Te Anau.
The place is small and cosy. It feels like a home.
The bedroom, bathroom and kitchen were very clean.
Rosie offered us to store some luggage while we were out walking the Kepler.
I would strongly recommend staying there.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ASarah187260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a family-run business which usually means: quality. We stayed here only for 1 night as they were fully booked on the following nights. The owners were very kind and helpful. It feels like it was a visit to our grandparents. :) They even arranged us accomodation for the following nights.

As they live there too, the kitchen is well equipped. They even share they meal with you. Our room seemed spacious for us, the bed was comfy and clean (no surprise here), so as the shower, with endless hot water. :)

Free, off street parking is available. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for a night enroute to MIlford sound and I wish I can stay longer. Despite its a backpackers accomadation, its live up to the name of "Homestay", with all the rooms under one roof, cosy and warming atmosphere. When we check-in in the evening, this place was full of activities with some guests busy preparing their dinner in the kitchen, some having the meals on the dinng table while the rest relaxing in the living area. We quickly joined in to get ready for dinner while chatting with fellow guests. Its was fully booked that nights as it was always, our double room is simple with a comfortable bed and a door open to the garden. Bathroom is huge with all the amenities in placed. The owner , Rosie, a trekker herself can give you all the info you needed for trekking and interesting places to stop along the way to Milford sound. The location is a bit far from town by walking but it was not an issue for us as we rented a car. We found out Te Anau is nore than just a stopover for Milford sound as the serene and relax enviroment around Lake Te Anau is worth another night stay just to enjoy thr scenery and do some trekking aorund the lake. We have the best bacon and egg pie at Miles better Pie upon Rosie's recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Rosie's homestay not located in the central of town but it's easy to find with town map. Te Anau is a very small place, we decided to stay here for a night because of glowworm trip.
We arrived quite late after the glowworm trip but thanks the host she yet to go sleep...
Room was ok but with limited space if the room fully occupied, 1 bunk bed and 2 single beds.
The shared bathroom is super big and of course clean too, I had a really good shower.
Kitchen is clean and big but too bad we got no time to cook.
I like this nice peaceful backpackers cause I won't feel 'crowded' in here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nt_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This homestay is owned an stayed by the owner itself. It is well maintained and clean, located a bit outskirt of the central town but it is ok if you have a car.

The kitchen is big and nice for cooking. Stayed 2 nights here in a shared bathroom private room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the shower powerful, and the kitchen exceptionally well-equipped.
But what made this place was the natural hospitality of the owners. Advice dispensed; lifts given into town; meals shared; disasters averted. It is no surprise that when the eponymous Rosie travelled to Europe, she stayed largely with former guests: it's a place where friendships are naturally formed.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zenk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.4 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
0.8 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosie's Homestay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosie's Homestay Backpackers

Property: Rosie's Homestay Backpackers
Address: 23 Tom Plato Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rosie's Homestay Backpackers Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing