We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosie's Homestay Backpackers
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Te Anau
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
58
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
6
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homethe kitchensourdough breadmusical instrumentsgreat kitchenstayed heremilford soundliving roomother guestscomfortable bedalistairrosieshostelshowertownhostsnz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 66 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This homestay is owned an stayed by the owner itself. It is well maintained and clean, located a bit outskirt of the central town but it is ok if you have a car.

The kitchen is big and nice for cooking. Stayed 2 nights here in a shared bathroom private room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lwkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the shower powerful, and the kitchen exceptionally well-equipped.
But what made this place was the natural hospitality of the owners. Advice dispensed; lifts given into town; meals shared; disasters averted. It is no surprise that when the eponymous Rosie travelled to Europe, she stayed largely with former guests: it's a place where friendships are naturally formed.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Zenk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. Rosie was abroad so we never met her, but Alistair was lovely. Really friendly, helpful and he became my knight in shining armoire when I managed to drop my car keys down a full drain in town. Alastair came, took off the drain cover in the pouring rain and almost submerged is upper body to find the key. He was amazing.

On top of that, the kitchen is great with any and all equipment you could wish for, comfortable beds and hot showers. To top it all we had a lovely communal dinner with Alastair's delicious smoked blue cod. Fabulous three nights at Rosie's...highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenzas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We loved it here! Its so cozy and it truly feels like home! It was really nice cooking in Rosies kitchen! really well equipped and with a big plus! dishwasher :)
Amazing place to relax and chill out!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was a hostel unlike many others. It was just so comfortable. Rooms felt like ones you'd flnd in your home. It has a limited number of rooms which is great. The kitchen matches up perfectly with the numbers. We never had so many fellow travelers be so outgoing and willing to chat. And Rosie...want to leave your luggage? keep food in their garage refrigerator until you return? It's all okay. She picked folks up and dropped them off. It's not downtown, but not too far. We loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterjevne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews