We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Food and Nice View”

The Moose Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A family friendly restaurant and bar located on the shore of Beautiful Lake Te Anau. We have it all, from an exciting kids menu to a whole range of styles of our signature dish - The good ol' steak! Whether you chose to sit in our fantastic beer garden and enjoy the sunshine while watching the sailing boats on the lake, or to join in the atmosphere while cheering for your team on the big screen, or to have a flutter on one of our 2 TAB machines, or dance the night away to one of our many live music acts - there's something for everyone, here at the Moose.... It's everybody's local!
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Nice View”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We dined on a nice evening and sitting outside with the lake view was lovely. The food was as expected for a bar restaurant we both enjoyed our meals. A BIG ups to the staff, the following morning I found I had left my bag there, on returning to bar found it safe behind the bar and everything intact Thanks so much!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    128
    78
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martin City, Montana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place to dine”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

You order you food and drinks at the bar and pay at that time. Food was very good and we enjoyed the atmosphere

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimZerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lakeside Beer!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The outside tables allow you to gaze at the gorgeous Lake Te Anau while you sip any one of a good variety of beer or wine. We didn't dine here, but their "wedges with sour cream and sauce" were a treat. Again, it's all about the VIEW!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph C, Manager at The Moose Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your 5* review! We're glad that you appreciated the amazing view that we are lucky enough to see every day. We hope you will make it back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

If you are wanting to eat here, dont...a group of us went on 24/2/2013 for supposedly the $12 Sunday Roast...by 5.30pm there were no roasts left..thats odd, its still early. so of course you have to order from the menu..I ordered the shrimp cocktail for $15.50 so I kinda expected it to be a reasonable size for that price...what a joke..a few lettuce leaves with 5 prawns...no not king prawns the little wee prawns..total rip off. friends waited over an hour for lamb shanks only to find out that apparently they hadn't been ordered!! to many young ones doing the OE travelling thing that quite honestly haven't got a clue...the view outside was nice tho..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l0rraineh0ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph C, Manager at The Moose Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
This is a disappointing review and we are sorry that your visit did not live up to our usual high standards. Unfortunately, due to the popularity of our $12 Sunday roasts, they do sometimes sell out. This is why we continue to offer a selection of $20 specials throughout Sunday and the rest of the week so that there is still choice for people on a budget. Our staff are experienced and long term but mistakes do happen occasionally. If we are made aware of issues or complaints at the time we will do our very best to rectify them, I hope this was the case with you and your friends. As I see you are living in NZ, I hope that you will come down and see us again another time so that we can show you the warm Moose hospitality we are famous for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awful Service”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food was below average and the service was very slow! Later on during our stay in the area we met a number of other travelers who warned us off, alas too late!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph C, Manager at The Moose Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We never like to read that people haven't enjoyed The Moose as we put a lot of effort in to making our bar and restaurant friendly and hospitable. Occasionally, delays are unavoidable and we apologize if this ruined your visit here. It is also unusual to get complaints about the food, but we do our best to address any issues raised and I hope that you spoke to our waiting staff at the time so that we could resolve any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moose Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to The Moose Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing