We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small places most without shadow, good shower, bad kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Small places most without shadow, good shower, bad kitchen”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and no shadow at all like most places while it was extremely sunny. Places are very small, you can see both neighbours if you have both windows open and read what they have in their hands. Showers are good and enough available. Kitchen is not so good, they have warm water and you can sit there to eat easely. But in the kitchen there is only a place to cook, but without anything. Nothing to do the dishes with, nothing to cook with, you can rent that for 5 dollar at the reception.
That is not something I expect from a kiwi camping. Not cooking everyday, but did it over there and had to take everything out of my camper to be able to do that. That is a bit of a disappointment.
Camping is almost in town, with is not an advantage, other kiwi camping in town is next to the lake, which give a better view in the morning and in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry your expectations were not met. Our park is surrounded by many large trees that provide plenty of shade, I'm sorry that you did not get one of these sites.
Our Kitchen has 5 cook tops and 5 sinks for doing dishes etc. We do provide dish washing liquid and dishcloths. Our kitchen was once fully stocked with pot, plates, utensils etc, but unfortunately these slowly started going missing and it was not cost effective for us to keep replacing these. We have full kitchen packs available for hire at $2.50 per person.
We are located right in town which some people find beneficial as it is only a 5 min walk to all shops and restaurants.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
39
86
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the hospitality not so high. We asked for BBQ and the receptionist mentioned that it was coin operated (2 dollar) but that it would be enough for BBQ-ing. However, when starting to BBQ the time ran out and our meal was not ready yet (few sausages). When asking at reception how this could be the reaction was that we would just need to put in another two dollars. Not very customer friendly.

Another small point is that at the reception they said that every day the fireplace would be on, but when wanting to sit at the fireplace it was not on at all and the reception was already closed.

The camping was clean and tidy but due We would recommend another camp spot since there are enough at Te Anau

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loes en louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The BBQ runs for 16 min per $2. We have found that most people can cook their tea in this time. In the summer months we do not light the fire as it gets very hot in the lounge with it going. We do how ever have a heater operating on the cooler nights which heats the lounge to a comfortable temperature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights as Te Anau was the base camp to travel to Milford Sound..
The hotel unit was nice (All are on the Ground floor)..the car parking is right in front of the room..so no hassle there either..The room was clean & serviced with coffee & milk..nothing exceptional about it..but given the price I think if I go to Te Anau again, I will blindly get the bookings done here..
The best part was a nice open ground right in front of the unit & big fig trees!! that was picturesque!!
Friendly staff..the lady at the counter gave me & my wife free coupons for a beer at the opposite side restaurants..we asked if we can get 1 more..she handed it over to us with a smile..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We like to support our local business and they are happy for us to had our these free drink vouchers. We can book any of the local trips and activities at no extra cost to you, if you are heading to Queenstown we have a range of activities we can book directly from here as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here while in Te Anau for 3 nights. We had the cabin room. It has 1 queen bed and 1 single bed. A basic kitchennete with all the basic ammenities for some simple cooking, clean pots and pans, cups and wine glasses, and milk given upon check in. The bathroom has a heater and is huge and really clean. The rooms just nicely sized for 2-3 people and we could just park our rented car right in front. A walk away from town and supermarket where we bought Bluff oysters and wine. Really nice place to relax. Staff was helpful and friendly

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mawar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, it is really appreciated as we welcome your comments. I'm glad you managed to get and try the Bluff oysters, they sure are tasty. Our location to town attracts many of our customers. Like you mentioned we are only a 2 min walk to shops and restaurants. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I absolutely loved this place. Not just because the facilities were great, modern and very comfortable but because of the exceptional service I`ve received from the owners Anna and Brad. They went out of their way to accommodate and help me! Anna even turned the heater on for me before I`ve arrived and my room was nice and cosy warm. I have never experienced such fantastic customer service before. Thank you so much Brad and Anna for looking after me, I`m looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna M, Owner at Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great feedback. If it's a cold night or guests are arriving late, we turn heaters on so rooms are warm on arrival. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Doubtful Sound, Our room was warm and lovely and had everthing we needed. The owners were very hospitable and showed us all the amenities. You can hire a house, with linen without linen, with bathroom, without bathroom.
If you need to cook youcan go to the big kitchen where you can hire all the utensils ( a thing that is common know in NZ, because of light fingered tourists)
We had some oysters still in the shells that we had just got in Stewart Island, and the owner even gave us his special knife and glove for opening them.
What a great place to stay and totally recomend it.

Room Tip: Covers everything you could want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 1night in a cabin.We got good value for money,it was a cold night but the cabin was warm and toasty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park

Property: Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Address: 15 Luxmore Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Te Anau Great Lakes Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With great proximity to town, we’re a great base for exploring the Fiordlands and Milford Sound. We have campervan and caravan sites, tent sites, standard and deluxe cabins, ensuite units and studio motels. Enjoy the TV lounge with log fire and flat screen TV. Laundry facilities are available. An adventure playground is available for children. New shower and toilets with heating. Boat and car parking. Tramper storage. Free information and tour booking office. Winter rates apply. We look forward to seeing you at our Fiordland Holiday Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing