We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent personal service”
Review of Luxmore Jet

Luxmore Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.13*
and up
Classic Jet Boat Adventure from Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Luxmore Jet operates scenic tours on the Upper Waiau River which flows between Lake Te Anau and beautiful Lake Manapouri.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent personal service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Phoned at lunchtime and was offered a tour for just the 2 of us in mid-afternoon. Bus was early at the hotel and Mark was a good tour guide on the bus placating my worried better half who was very nervous about the boat ride. We didn't go on a jetboat in Queenstown as it looked too commercial and just a thrill and scare trip. Lex took us on a very good tour down the river to Lake Manapouri, telling us all about the Lord of the Rings filming spots, the Kepler trail, and showed us a nice trout on the way upstream. Did a few 360s to thrill us but not too much to scare the wife.
A very nice afternoon, with a very good guide and skipper.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlymikeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's not just the ride, it's the people”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The jet boat ride is great fun and the sights beautiful but it is what you learn from Lex that makes it memorable. New Zealanders generously share their country and Luxmore Jet is a prime example. There are choices of jet boats but Luxmore has it all and we are grateful we met them. They also offer guided walks combined with the jet boat ride - highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marietta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent, even in winter”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Well, it was almost winter when we arrived in Te Anau, but Luxmore was recommended to us by our hosts where we were staying so we gave them a call. They brought a bus to our cottages and picked us up. We ended up getting a "private" tour that included tons of fun details about the Lord of the Rings. I mean the jet boat was fun, but come on, we were on the same river as Frodo!!! A few of us got a package deal that included a helicopter ride, so as they did that our Luxmore "guides" took the rest of us for coffee and site-seeing until the helicopter with the rest of our party landed. It was indeed a blast.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Deb_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a theme park ride... way better.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Fantastic experience! Highly entertaining and knowledgeable operators who made sure we took home good memories. Mark and Lex have a great job and obviously love it as they passed on their enthusiasm for the Waiau River giving us an experience we will talk about for many years. Once again we had a beautiful day (In between rainy ones). The original booking was on a very rainy day but the Luxmore Jet operators postponed our ride until a day they knew we would derive the most pleasure. It was a fun, fab ride. Thanks guys.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing scenery and lovely crew!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The views from the boat are amazing and the crew very knowledgeable about the area. A nice mix of thrills, beautiful scenery and interesting info about the river and lake. Best thing to do in te anau!

Helpful?
Thank Stephenlclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luxmore Jet also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Luxmore Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing