We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Wow.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiordland Cinema

Fiordland Cinema
Ranked #1 of 1 Fun & Games in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Voted a 'must see' for visitors to Te Anau & Fiordland National Park, Ata Whenua - Shadowland (pronounced 'Ata-fenua'; also known as 'Fiordland on Film') takes you on an unforgettable cinematic journey through one of the most awe inspiring landscapes on earth. See the Fiordland World Heritage wilderness you would not otherwise get to see. Mysterious, evocative, exhilarating and utterly spectacular, filmed across extremes of the seasons, climate and terrain. Set to a stunning original soundtrack with no spoken / written words, Ata Whenua can be enjoyed by all. Running time: 32 minutes. Fiordland Cinema also screens regular feature movies - please check website for details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm a kiwi, and after watching the DVD again that I purchased many moons back, I'm still in tears.
God we live in a beautiful and magic place.
The theatre was well set up. The DVD is a great takehome memory of your time in Fiordland.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrazyRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    81
    22
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“something to enjoy on a wet day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

beautiful short movie depicting the region in beautiful photography.
we liked it a lot.....came out of that comfy cinema quite relaxed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Nice little cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

While in Te Anau, we took the advice of locals to go and see a locally made, 35 minute movie called "Ata Whenua" (Shadowlands). It is basically a continuous film of scenery throughout New Zealand with orchestrated background music and no commentary.
It was worth seeing - the scenery was spectacular - but it would have been nice to know where each bit was from.
The cinema itself is clean, quite new and intimate (quaint and small).
My wife returned with a friend, while I was on the Kepler Track, to see "The Quartet". She said the movie started on time with no advertisements before - so don't be late.
Also, the movie suddenly stopped half-way through for intermisssion - just like the old days.
This could be a good thing, or annoying - depending on your viewpoint.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Placebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“second viewing which just got better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Do not miss this 30 minute film ( shown on the hour) which highlights the joy of Fiordland from a helicopter. Helpful list of where pictures have been taken

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank pipsqeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This movie was recommended by our hotel, the Fiordland Lakeview, and it was fabulous! If you are there, take the time to see it before going to Milford Sound. Really breathtaking scenery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank betsymNYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiordland Cinema also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing