We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite NZ Experience!!”
Review of Fiordland Tours

Fiordland Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.41*
and up
Full-Day Milford Sound Extraordinaire Tour from Te Anau
Ranked #1 of 33 Tours in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fiordland Tours Milford Sound small group Coach & Cruise.We maximise your opportunity to capture one of the finest alpine drives in the world in a unique and unhurried way.Our leading small boat operation gives you a chance to see Seals, Dolphins and Penguins with an in depth, fun commentary about the rich history of Fiordland.We do personal pick-ups from your accommodation. Departs Te Anau 9-00am Returns 6pm
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“My Favourite NZ Experience!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The experience provided by Fiordland Private Tours and our tour guide (Ray) was relaxed and professional, Ray provided many opportunities for photos and was extremely knowledgeable. The small tour sizes felt more like a trip with friends (albeit very educated friends!) than a 'bus trip with commentary'. I loved the personalization and individual attention given and the opportunity to view additional places that weren't mentioned on the itinerary. Despite the treacherous roads with ice and snow I felt safe and in good hands at all times.

Upon arriving for the cruise (provided by Mitre Peak Cruises) Ray went out of his way to ensure passengers were at the front of the queue and even wiped the seats clean of moisture before we sat down! The Mitre Peak Cruise vessel was small but allowed access to areas the larger vessels could not. The skipper was genuinely enthusiastic about the experience and showed the utmost professionalism and ensured a lovely experience.

Thanks so much Fiordland private tours for making my Milford Sound experience such an enjoyable one! :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank adenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Manager at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our Te Anau based tour to Milford Sound. We are pleased you appreciated the personal touch we were able to add to the day. Because we operate from the 'real' gateway of Fiordland (Te Anau), and have small groups, we are able to offer many extra scenic photo stops on the majical scenic drive to Milford Sound. To have us as your "favourite NZ experience" is a real honour. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Entertaining and Professional”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Thank you Ray for the most incredible day in Fiordland and Milford Sound.
This tour lived up to all of our expectations and more. Rays fun and informative commentary made our day just so enjoyable. This tour is an absolute 'must do' while you are in Te Anau. We are pleased that we left our Motor Home in Te Anau and let our guide Ray entertain us for the day. They even let us park our motor home on their property for the day.
Well done Ray we thoroughly enjoyed your tour. We really recommend the "extra" tour as the morning tea with home baking is sooo wonderful.
We really appreciated the small group scenario. I think there was only 9 on the tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRizz M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive review about our small group tour. Our average group size is around 8 or 9. .We are pleased that you appreciated the wonderful morning tea that we provided as part of the tour. You have noted that we are both "entertaining and professional" and we appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Incredible attention to detail”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the time we were picked up from our accommodation until we were dropped off later in the day we found Rays tour absolutely fantastic. The fun commentary on the way to Milford Sound and the Cruise on Milford Sound was our South Island holiday highlight. Ray not only supplies a wonderful morning tea break, his small coach has permanent hot water and a mini kitchen so that we could make ourselves a cuppa when ever we wanted to, and I do love a cup of tea! This is a superb day with lots of scenic stops. Ray took some great photos of us in lots of places with our camera. We so appreciated this service.

The attention to detail on this tour is a credit to this company.

This must be the best Milford Sound Tour by far.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and the special appreciation of our attention to to detail.
We do our best to make sure that our passengers have a good number of photos with themselves amougst the scenery.. To mention that we "must be the best tour to Milford Sound" is really appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tour I've had in NZ.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible day we had! Out of all the tours we have done around NZ this was the best, hands down. Ray was professional, knowledgeable and entertaining with his commentary. There were so many scenic stops along the way. Morning tea at the Hollyford Valley including some fresh and delicious banana cake (made by Rays wife!!) with our hot cuppa was excellent. The road journey to Milford Sound exceeded the cruise which fantastic as well. There was only 5 people on the tour so it gave us a real small group experience (and more cake each!!). I would definitely recommend "A day with Ray".

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angewhipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are pleased that you appreciated the fresh home baking.
It is a wonderful office that we operate in (the road to Milford Sound) and we are pleased that you noted the scenic stops on the way, along with drive through the amazing scenery, exceeded the cruise on the Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A Day with Ray"”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We're Kiwis from Auckland and spend a bit of coin exploring our own country and travel overseas every year too. We reckon we can differentiate between the good and the average. Ray's very personal trip was the highlight of our week down South [sorry Ray, the Bluff Oysters did take out the first prize]. As you are now reading this review - don't hesitate - life's too short to miss out experiencing 'A Day with Ray'. exploring this part of NZ. Read the other reviews - same story. Priceless.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiordlandtours, Owner at Fiordland Tours, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. No hard feelings about getting beaten by the "Bluff Oysters"
For readers of reviews that are not sure what a Bluff oyster is, it the champion seafood delicacy in the world. We are pleased that we made your tour to Milford Sound a holiday highlight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiordland Tours also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Fiordland Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing