We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star cabin in Te Anau”
other travelers have booked this property
Cabin frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section Cabin and Helicopter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section
Cabin and Helicopter
Sunset on the deck.
Cabin Kitchen
Cabin Dining
Lounge
Looking down into lounge
Main Bedroom
Bathroom
Washing Machine and Dryer
Mezzanine floor Kingsize bed
King Single bed on Mezzanine floor
Stairs
Cabin in the snow
Cabin with Rocco enjoying the snow
Rocco with the horses
The Sheep
Rocco in the snow
Sunrise in Te Anau
Manapouri and the Takitimu Mts
Rocco at our local park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghostviki...
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“5 star cabin in Te Anau”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed five wonderful nights at The Hollows. I do a lot of research before my travels, and I was very exited about this cabin. We were greeted by Pam and Rocco the dog upon arrival. The cabin turned out to be spotless! We live in a very similar cabin in the mountains of Norway, and we felt just like home. The cabin had everything we needed, we didn’t want to leave this place! We enjoyed BBQ on the porch, the cool cows, birds chirping and the magnificent surrounding area. We hope to be back some day, in our new home away from home in NZ.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2014
You are welcome back anytime..... so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osmosisho...
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“6 Stars”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A beautiful log cabin in a peaceful setting with wonderful hosts.

Positives
Dreamy log home.
Pam's attention to detail.
Spotless.
Great nourishing breakfast supplies.
Rocco the dog... a hit with the kids.
3 cows to add to the setting.
Proximity to Te Anau and the local golf course.
Laundry.

Negatives
Having to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2014
It was a great pleasure to have such lovely guests as yourselves, love to see you back sometime. Thanks
Pam and Mark (and Rocco)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewed January 14, 2014 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2014
It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay Alison, so pleased we helped make your visit to New Zealand an enjoyable one. Thanks, Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Petrina P
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place we have every stayed”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Hollows lovely log cabin and cannot begin to describe how wonderful our stay was. The cabin is amazing, beautifully set out with all the comforts of home. The views from every window are incredible, and being on a country property, very quiet and relaxing.

Pam and Mark were so friendly and made us feel so welcome. We never wanted to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about the log cabin was wonderful.
Liked least: it was fantastic, we have no negatives
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumedha K
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant property- stay for longer if you can!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We are a family of 4 adults and one infant who stayed at the log cabin for 2 nights. It's a 5 mins drive from the city centre and though this is not a lakefront property, it couldnt possibly get more charming. The cabin is very well equipped- right from the durables and cutlery to the consumables (toiletries, detergent etc.), everything is top notch. Pam even arranged for a baby bath tub and a high chair for my little one!
Only piece of advice is to stay here for more nights to really enjoy the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was a log cabin- have never stayed in one before!
Liked least: wi-fi was a bit erratic.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacckkk
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great spot”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Hollows in Te Anau was one of the highlights of a great trip. The cabin is in a stunning location on the edge of town. A very peaceful corner of the world.

Cabin is well appointed & the owner made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I couldn't fault it
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macb69
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in New Zealand”
Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Hollows was the best place we stayed during our New Zealand holiday. All the little extras that were included (especially the wine and cheese) were greatfully appreciated and helped to make our holiday more memorable. Even my 3 travel weary teenage boys were impressed and would have like to have stayed longer.
The location is stunning and is located just out of Te Anau. A great place to stay if you are exploring the area and want more than standard hotel/self contained accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation, the location and the service.
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2012
We were so pleased to have you stay, be lovely to see you again. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$370
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing