We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great spot”
other travelers have booked this property
Cabin frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section Cabin and Helicopter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cabin frontage
Cabin position on section
Cabin and Helicopter
Sunset on the deck.
Cabin Kitchen
Cabin Dining
Lounge
Looking down into lounge
Main Bedroom
Bathroom
Washing Machine and Dryer
Mezzanine floor Kingsize bed
King Single bed on Mezzanine floor
Stairs
Cabin in the snow
Cabin with Rocco enjoying the snow
Rocco with the horses
The Sheep
Rocco in the snow
Sunrise in Te Anau
Manapouri and the Takitimu Mts
Rocco at our local park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, Southland Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jacckkk
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great spot”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The Hollows in Te Anau was one of the highlights of a great trip. The cabin is in a stunning location on the edge of town. A very peaceful corner of the world.

Cabin is well appointed & the owner made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I couldn't fault it
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you stay. Thank you. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macb69
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in New Zealand”
Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The Hollows was the best place we stayed during our New Zealand holiday. All the little extras that were included (especially the wine and cheese) were greatfully appreciated and helped to make our holiday more memorable. Even my 3 travel weary teenage boys were impressed and would have like to have stayed longer.
The location is stunning and is located just out of Te Anau. A great place to stay if you are exploring the area and want more than standard hotel/self contained accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the accomodation, the location and the service.
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2012
We were so pleased to have you stay, be lovely to see you again. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewed April 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you, looking forward to your next visit.
Thanks
Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
grant_rob...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“An amazing retreat that was the highlight of 2 weeks in NZ”
Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

My wife, three kids (6,10,13) and I stayed in this amazing cabin for two nights. Amazing log cabin that is oh so cute and cosy. Warm, inviting and with the most comfortable beds you can imagine. My daughter loved the horses ajisted nearby and the service was first class. Pam even followed us up and on forwared a watch we left behind. If you want a touch of luxury whilst in Ta Anau I doubt you'd find a better place to stay. Just the right distacne from the centre of Te Anau.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2011
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope your watch arrived home safely. Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewed March 8, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: The cabin it self.
Liked least: The hob is in the corner - but I am digging to answer this.
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jacko582
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“This is the best place we stayed during our travels in NZ”
Reviewed February 15, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

The heading says it all. Don't go past this marvelous log cabin set on a hill approx 5kms out of town. I can only support all the other reviewers, this is an excellent choice of a place to stay. Its fully equiped to a very high standard. A true 5 star establishment. I repeat again, don't go past the Hollows Log Cabin. You just have to stay here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2011
We were so pleased to be able to share our lovely part of the world with you. Thank you.
Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUS
Reviewed January 29, 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing