We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly wonderful food - top lunch choice”
Review of Bailiez Cafe

Bailiez Cafe
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful food - top lunch choice”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The reviews we read for this place did not do it justice. The menu was really thoughtfully prepared and all the food we were served was fantastic. The waitress was willing to make small changes to accommodate our tastes. The presentation was really beautiful and the portions were just right. Prices were fair, if a tad on the high side. Very comfortable large booths added to the ambiance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your feedback.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    77
    53
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A lovely restaurant with friendly staff and good food. It was attached to the hotel we were staying in, so was very handy for a pre dinner drink. We had a breakfast and dinner here which was lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your recommendation.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balclutha, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Bailiez is a great restaurant - food consistently good, and family friendly. Staff always provide excellent service.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your recommendation.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
259 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had one good day - early in the morning and there was a very pleasant waitress. We returned the following day for breakfast and the service was truly appalling. We watched 2 other couples enter, have their food and leave and we had still not had our breakfast. Then the wrong breakfast was delivered. After 45 minutes my husband went to complain and the assistant manager walked away, leaving the pleasant waitress to deal with an angry customer. The poor management of this café is reflected in its service. We left without breakfast and got an amazing pie from the shop down the road!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Hi dippy_sal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am deeply disappointed to hear that the service on your second visit was not up to our usual high standard, we sincerely apologise, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have nearly always found restaurants & food in NZ to be of top quality. However we were disappointed after our dinner at the above. Being a Diabetic I usually try to find a dish on the Menu that will suit my dietary needs, so I chose Steak with vegetables and a mash of white potato. White potato is a non-no, so I requested if I could have a mash of Kumara/Sweet Potato, it was on the menu in other dishes so I thought no problem. "Uh uh", chef cannot do this says the waitress after checking, so I decided to go ahead & eat less mash. Then the problems started, because the vegetable consisted of 8 baked pieces of parsnip, which I hate, yeah I know, personal preference and 4 pieces of carrot totally overpowered by the parsnip flavour it was cooked with. This would have to be the worst meal I have been served in NZ, bar none. The steak was only just OK, I ordered Medium Rare & it was closer to Medium, but acceptable. The waitress was apologetic, but at the end of the day the cooking was pathetic.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterandheike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Hi peterandheike,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. Your input, and the feedback of all our customers is vitally important to us. I am deeply disappointed that we were unable to accomodate your request. I have addressed this issue with our chef, to improve on our customers dietary requirements. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Dee Riddoch
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailiez Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Bailiez Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing