We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best thing about distinction luxmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bailiez Cafe

Bailiez Cafe
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The best thing about distinction luxmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lazy breakfast here on a rainy day and all was good. They cooked all of our eggs to our liking and service was quick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaEstella71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your feedback.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    76
    53
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast: better to go to supermarket across the road”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Unbearably slow service. Long food preparation time (35mins for toasted bagel which when finally arrived untoasted!). Burnt milk in coffee. Better off to buy food from the supermarket across the road unless you are craving a Faulty Towers experience.

Helpful?
Thank sudielasudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 25, 2016
Hi sudielasudes,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we value all of our customer feedback. We apologise for your poor dining experience with us, these issues have been addressed with our team, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
188 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely meal at Bailiez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed over in Te Anau en route to Milford Sound. The menu outside Bailiez looked very appetising so we tried it. The interior is really nice, warm and cosy, with high back window seating. The service was excellent, and the food was wonderful. The portions were good too... I had a pint of Speights which was spot-on. We shouldn't really have had a sweet course, but couldn't resist. We left happy and full. I would definately eat here again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your recommendation.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellently prepared breakfast, friendly staff. Good clean Cafe with prompt service. Seemed popular with locals & tourists

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gibbs5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your recommendation.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic all day meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were only in Te Anau for 3 nights, but we ate here 3 times!!! Service was fantastic, staff were very friendly. Meals were absolutely beautiful - you must have the Eggs Benedict - awesome!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CONNIEM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee R, Manager at Bailiez Cafe, responded to this review, October 24, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we sincerely value your recommendation.

Kind regards
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bailiez Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Bailiez Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing