We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at Knobs Flat on our way to Milford Sound. Whilst we found being out of contact (no cell coverage or wifi) we actually enjoyed the relaxation of not being tied to our mobile devices. The staff were friendly and offered advice on what would be good to see and do to make the most of your visit to the area.

The room was clean and the kitchenette area in the self contained unit was ample, with a fridge, cooktop and grill and basic cooking equipment. The beds were like any other hotel bed I guess, nothing fantastic but nothing bad either. We always travel with out own pillows, lucky we did as the ones there were a tad brick like.

A great place to stay if you want to get away from it all and get some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Ring and speak to the staff to ensure you get the most appropriate room, they'll sort you out an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoganX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
79
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The place simply awesome!! Big windows so that you soak in all you want the breathtaking views. The place is peaceful and comfortable. The kitchenette is small but has the necessary utensils (just carry your own supplies for cooking please). It is located in an isolated place and that makes the place even more charming. I would highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PArrorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in one of the units nearest the main Te Anau to Milford Road. It looked a little unprepossessing from the outside but was actually extremely clean, comfortable and well-equipped. You need to bring supplies from Te Anau as it is isolated, but we thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet and there are lovely views of the surrounding mountains. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TolinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night here. So peaceful, surrounded by mountain views and very relaxing with good kitchen facilities and no television. The sandflies are vicious but windows are screened so the fresh mountain air can circulate into your room.
It felt like being close to nature and camping but with all the luxuries you appreciate after a day or two tramping. Close to walks with wonderful views of the stars. Great value - bring some food supplies.

Room Tip: We had the last room available which was the smallest and cheapest studio but it was still a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphnescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I really enjoyed staying here with my family after a 3 day hike on the routeburn track. Facilities were clean, host is helpful. We went to sleep with the curtains open so we could see the scenery as we went to sleep and woke up. There is no tv in the unit (or in ours at least) which i loved. My family and i talked, played games, cooked a meal together.
Tip: There obviously isn't anywhere to eat out but the kitchen has everything you need to cook a meal (minus an oven from memory) so bring a cooler bag of supplies and enjoy a cooked meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Best place to stay close to Milford Sound. Very clean, their own private water fall, and PC is a very congenial host. Be sure to bring your own food and fill up with fuel in Te Anau but very quiet and affordable place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dstein2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were down there in January. It was a strange summer - a bit cold. Knobs flat is a lovely place. We had a look at their hydro power station - a great little setup.

Facilities are clean and well maintained with the best showers in the south island.

I wont forget the stars reflecting off the snow on the mountains.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
34.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
34.0 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
33.9 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
33.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
33.8 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Property: Knobs Flat
Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Knobs Flat Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing