We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful, eco-friendly, great location.”
Review of Knobs Flat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knobs Flat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a 5 hour drive from Makaroa, my husband and I, 64 and 65, were greeted by PC who offered to show us the local waterfall. He helped us cross a 10 - 12' wide stream which was flowing rapidly due to 30" of recent rains that had also caused landslides and bridges to fall. He patiently led us through the moss covered forest to a lovely waterfall. After a long day of driving, it was stress relieving walk and we enjoyed seeing moss literally covering every living plant and tree. PC was knowledgable and helpful about everything we asked. We appreciated that we could recycle, cook, control our own heat, enjoy a fully equipped kitchen, shower, bed, and be near Milford Sound. Husband got up at 2AM to enjoy the brightly lit southern sky and saw the milky way clearly, a rare opportunity in USA where light saturation means it is difficult to observe even on a clear night. We applaud PC for setting a great example of how you can run a comfortable hotel business and also your minimize environmental impact. If you desire only the comforts you need and if you can forgo the parking garages, cement driveways, fancy bars, grand foyers of a five star hotel, you will enjoy this eco friendly place. Go out and enjoy the moss covered forest, the clear nights and the scenery. No TV. PC will let you use his internet. I hope he will consider adding Internet use for his guests because I am addicted to a daily news and email update. Everything else was great and PC is a great role model for following your dream.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyVegan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We learned the hard way that the gates to Milford can close in the rain. After driving all the way to the closed gate, we looked for the closest place to stay while waiting for the gates to re-open, and stumbled across Knob's Flat which had had a cancellation. After waiting through the rain for two days we finally were able to drive into stay at Milford Lodge where we were only able to get a dorm-style room (aka a hostel). If we were to go back to Milford, we'd stay at Knob's Flat again -- it's location has great access to hikes that are just outside of Milford, and the accommodations were comfortable with nice-sized kitchens. We were not impressed by the Milford Lodge -- it's website and travel books make it sound nicer than it is. You also don't need to stay overnight in Milford - just make it a day trip and stay outside the gates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a great place to get away from it all and explore the natural beauty of the area. The hosts are welcoming and very knowledgable and we really appreciated the hot water bottles. The room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a great little spot on the way to Milford Sound. We were travelling in campervans and stopped here to shorten our drive into Milford the next day. The amenities are clean and modern with a well equipped camp kitchen. We did bush walks and the kids even had a swim in the crystal clear stream across the road. This was a great change from the normal camp grounds around the south island, which we also enjoyed. Thanks PC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Col I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed her for 4 days. Seeing Milford Sound and surrounds before venturing for an overnight stay at Doubtful Sound.

A warm welcome, lovely room and then a exploring walk to the waterfall and a (very) brisk swim in the river.

We loved it and would have liked to join in on the night survey with Forestry for the walking

Excellent for bird watching and waking up to the sight of snow capped mountains.

Contact Direct - info@knobsflat.co.nz

Kia Ora

Room Tip: Remote from everything so bring food and supplies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We impressed by the accomodation at Knob's flat- personal touches like hot water bottles and a coffee plunger, a double bed that wasn't two singles stuck together, a great shower, fast working heater, and eco products. Everything was clean, cosy and the host couldn't have been more hospitable - we were a bit stuck when the road to milford closed, and he sold us dinner and breakfast at a reasonable rate, gave us plently of advice and information and was very friendly and helpful generally. We had a very quiet, peaceful evening in the cosy cabin, and the view in the morning is stunning. Great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauranz255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Although the accomodation at Knobs Flat is basic, its location along the road between Te Anau and Milford Sound makes it incredibly convenient. In addition, it gets five stars for the heavenly display overhead in this remote location. The staff is not only friendly and helpful, but also very knowledgeable about the stars and all kinds of local flora and fauna. An excellent value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Anau
34.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
33.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
33.6 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
18.7 mi away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 7 in Glenorchy
297 reviews
30.4 mi away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knobs Flat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knobs Flat

Address: SH 94 Te Anau Milford Highway | Te Anau, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Te Anau
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Knobs Flat Te Anau, Fiordland National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing