We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for breakfast or lunch!”
Review of Sandfly Cafe

Sandfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for breakfast or lunch!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Lovely outdoor seating and a variety of items on the menu to please everyone. Generous portions and nice service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigBluPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    241
    60
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Breakfast before check-in - 3rd April 2014”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The missus and I were recommended to checkout Sandfly Cafe and I really don't have much to say.

Customer service is excellent.
Big breakfast is certainly big and plentiful and the Eggs Benedict was great.
We will definitely be returning again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sang_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best chocolate brownie and great coffee”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for coffee and cake. Beautiful brownie and carrot cake. Coffee was also nice. Staff friendly, good atmosphere, but beware tiny toilet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everyday I come here, and I'll keep returning , the foods great the coffees excellent and the staffs always good for a quick chin wag, :) I recommend this place for everyone !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammystarr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What an awful experience. The staff couldn't care less about their customers, they couldn't be bothered even being friendly. Two of them barged me out of the way as I walked outside to our table (I was actually there first, and not even an 'excuse me', 'sorry' from them). They didn't bring us any cutlery, and when we pointed this out they only brought out one fork and one knife for two people! The food is average at best. We will definitely not be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandfly Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Sandfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing