We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate brownie and great coffee”
Review of Sandfly Cafe

Sandfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best chocolate brownie and great coffee”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for coffee and cake. Beautiful brownie and carrot cake. Coffee was also nice. Staff friendly, good atmosphere, but beware tiny toilet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    237
    58
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Everyday I come here, and I'll keep returning , the foods great the coffees excellent and the staffs always good for a quick chin wag, :) I recommend this place for everyone !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammystarr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

What an awful experience. The staff couldn't care less about their customers, they couldn't be bothered even being friendly. Two of them barged me out of the way as I walked outside to our table (I was actually there first, and not even an 'excuse me', 'sorry' from them). They didn't bring us any cutlery, and when we pointed this out they only brought out one fork and one knife for two people! The food is average at best. We will definitely not be back.

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Returned over and over again!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our group of friends visiting Te Anau returned to the Sandfly every day, for the great coffee and breakfast offerings. Very small staff so service can be a bit slow but we were a big group so not their fault. We checked out menus elsewhere in town but nothing else came close. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ForesterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Fiorldand”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The must stop destination for a great coffee, food and service. We always make a point of stopping here when we visit Te Anau.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Talk2libby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandfly Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Sandfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing