We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent coffee”
Review of Sandfly Cafe

Sandfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Sandfly was recommended by the Te Anau Kingsgate, we were not disappointed. The service was very friendly and quick and the coffee great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanieh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    237
    58
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and chocolate brownie with raspberries”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On my trip to Te Anau I stopped at Sandfly Cafe. The staff is very friendly ( a bit slow), but they have amazing coffee, chocolate brownie with raspberries that melts in your mouth like ice cream. Delicious. And don't forget to ask them to heat it up for you and add some cream. Once you've tried it you want it every day :-). Thank you Sandfly

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MZV274873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Large Cakes, lovely coffee”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great strong coffee and very large cakes. We didn’t need lunch after a cake! We pretty much had a big breakfast at home then had a cake and coffee to last til evening!
The muffins were awesome

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Had an awesome breakfast here. A real home made feel of everything we ordered. My wife especially enjoyed a vege breakfast that included all her favorites and was HUGE. Good coffee as well. Strongly recommend for anyone looking for a good breakfast /lunch in Te Anau

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Busy light bright cafe with good cheerful service,nice outside seating under the shade of the tree. good veggie burgers and coffee

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandfly Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Sandfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing