We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Sandfly Cafe

Sandfly Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Busy light bright cafe with good cheerful service,nice outside seating under the shade of the tree. good veggie burgers and coffee

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank alang684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    241
    60
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“What a Breakfast!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

On our way out of Te Anau after three wonderful nights, we stopped for breakfast at the Sandfly Cafe [why would anybody name a restaurant after the obnoxious sandfly, which in the US is called a black fly?]. But name aside, this is a place I wish was in my local neighborhood, as I would eat breakfast there often. Not only were our breakfasts ample [indeed, huge, and I am a huge eater], but they were delicious and beautifully presented. The coffees were good, and the selection of sweets [which we did not taste] was mouthwatering. And on top of all this, the place was delightfully decorated with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Flat white.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped here for lunch before starting the Kepler track and ended up coming back three more times for flat whites. They have a nice set up of tables inside and picnic tables outside to take advantage of the weather. The service in my experience was good and efficient. Overall, go for the flat white (and other coffee drinks), was superb and I recommend it to anyone traveling through Te Anau.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good food, don't know why others have complained at unfriendly service, they were great with us. We had the BLT's and they were excellent. Very good coffee too, and from an Aucklander that's saying something.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited Sandfly Cafe in the early afternoon but were actually hoping for a breakfast/brunch style menu after a very early start to do the round trip from Te Anau to Milford that morning. Sandfly Cafe had a great menu of breakfast/brunch/lunch style options (I can personally recommend their scrambled eggs and bacon). The food was good, the cafe staff were friendly and they had plenty of pleasant outdoor seating to enjoy the Fiordland sunshine. Would definitely return to this place again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandfly Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Sandfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing