We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back for second time”
Review of Miles Better Pies

Miles Better Pies
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We came back for second time”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It was nearby the Real Journey Te Anau Jetty. We dropped by to have our first taste of its pie while waiting for our tour. There were quite a few choices of pie and the price was average. The shop had seating of maybe around 10-20 people. The meal was full and satisfying.

On our second day after we came back from Milford Sound Tour to have our take away lunch bought there again. We really like the pies and like to try out other choices, so first thought was to go back there for lunch. Having a hot pie in such cold weather really feels good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zack-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    201
    68
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pies ever”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Love these pies! Lovely crust ... And delicious real fillings. Over three days we tried venison, mince & cheese, chicken and bacon, vegetarian, Thai chicken.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank k a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stop for lunch”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A friend from Queenstown recommended the pies here and I thought I might as well give it a try since I’m passing by the area. We just returned from a cruise at Doubtful Sound and were hungry for lunch. The outfit is not big and the entrance is not eye-catching. However the pies are something different. They do not look out of this world, but the meat filling is good and has a good bite to it.

The pies made a good lunch for us. Certainly recommended. 4 stars overall for me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pies ever”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If the line outside of MIles Better Pies doesn't convince you, hear this: all of the pies here are delicious. Just the right size, perfectly constructed, delicious fillings--what more could you want?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hhuitt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Far better than expected”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

There is a whole lotta meat in one pie. Well worth it. Hope to pass by again sometime!
The venison pie is incredibly fragrant and tasty. I want to try the rest now

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AFoodieAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Better Pies also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Miles Better Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing