We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pies in NZ”
Review of Miles Better Pies

Miles Better Pies
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pies in NZ”
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Once you've eaten a pie at Miles Better, all other pies taste substandard.

We ordered a steak, bacon and mushroom pie and a lamb and mint pie and - even as serious pie lovers - we were impressed. Fresh ingredients, flaky pastry and big chunks of meat.

If you only do one thing in Te Anau, make it eating a Miles Better pie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    199
    68
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“The name says it all.”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You know you are onto a good thing when there is a queue into the street most of the day.
An amazing assortment of pies on the menu.
We all had different flavours, but got passed around for tasting.
All good.
They do good milkshakes too by the way.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Placebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not satisfying”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

my friend and i went there for the fresh sandwiches. the lady served us taking them out from the cabinet. we actually had the same sandwiches for lunch but they are not quite the same. my friend got a bigger one and mine was smaller. we could just tell the difference by holding on the hand. besides, we found they are a little bit oversalted. that was kind of disappointing. the staff were nice though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Went three days in a row!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My title says it all. Very affordable eats and filing! The lamb and mint is my favorite, but there could have been more mint. The wild venison a bit too gamey. Perfect for lunch! If only I could get these pies in Shanghai, China.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jingmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was really looking forward to these pies and was very disappointed. The venison Pie was full of gristly meat - no excuse for that; the chicken pie was full of creamy gunk. The pastry was okay. It doesn't deserve the high ratings it seems to attract

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAFTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miles Better Pies also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Miles Better Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing